We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portvcale Lounge - CLOSED

Portvcale Lounge
43 St James Parade, Bath BA1 1UQ , England
01225424321
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Portvcale Lounge, a relaxed and laid back Portuguese restaurant/bar in the centre of the world heritage city of Bath. It's family run and the food is freshly cooked by the mother. Traditional "petiscos" and cataplanas as well as other main dishes like "bacalhau a Bras" or "Frango Piri Piri", followed by a exquisite list of wines from the North, Centre and South of Portugal. Also to try are the different types of Sangria (Red, White and Champagne)and the different freshly baked desserts on offer daily.Come and indulge yourself to one of the oldest gastronomies in the world...the Portuguese.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great food and great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went with my husband on our overnight trip to Bath. The hotel concierge recommended this place to us, and it was a great find! We went for lunch and chose from the tapas menu. All four of our dishes were phenomenal and the chocolate mousse for dessert was fantastic. For lunch the special is two tapas for under ten pounds whoa drink. Definitely worth it. Plus we got some amazing conversation with Antonio and his mother who are the owners. Will definitely come here next time we are in Bath.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    173
    33
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Warm welcome friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited Portvcale last Wednesday, the staff are friendly, great sangria and the food has a mums home cooked feel about it, we enjoyed our visit, the tapas was tasty and the chef came out to check we were happy, this was nice as it showed this family take pride in their business, if you were after something different i would say try this place, it is nothing fancy or a la carte but good tasty tapas is on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Bath!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been to Portvcale several times and everytime is better and better, the food is delicious and the service is magnificent, everything is freshly cooked and is the best portugues food you will taste in the UK.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely evening in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just had a lovely meal at the Portvcale and our first experience of Portuguese food (we are planning to go there this year).

When we arrived as complete novices, we were warmly welcomed by the owner. He took the time to explain and advise on the dishes which we found very useful given our knowledge of the dishes on offer.

We have a variety of 6 Tapas dishes, all of which were very nice. We would suggest that 3 per person is an ideal quantity unless a big eater

The whole night was enjoyable, relaxed and un rushed

Thanks for a wonderful night and spending the time to advise on both the food and on possible areas for visiting such as Cascais and Lisbon later this year

We would also thank your mother who prepared the dishes on the night and loved the chat after the meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

All the food was very tasty and obviously authentically cooked - however, the portion sizes were small, the food was a bit cold, no seafood was on the menu, and the bread was a plain white cheap roll. Shame really because the actual dishes were very tasty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portvcale Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portvcale Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.