We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired in places but spotlessly clean and in a great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgar Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgar Townhouse to your Saves list
The Edgar Townhouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Rate Book Direct
Ranked #93 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bit tired in places but spotlessly clean and in a great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our welcome and registration at the Edgar was quick, polite and efficient rather than warm and welcoming. We were however extremely grateful that our heaviest bag was carried up the 5 flights of stairs without us asking for help. Our room was on the small side but, as we never spend much time there, was large enough. We were concerned that as the room faced the main road and being just off the city centre there would be a lot of night time traffic noise. We were wrong! There was very little noise at night and sleeping with a window slightly open was no problem at all. The breakfast menu had a variety of cereals, fruit and yoghurts along with plenty of toast and the usual full English. A choice of teas and decaff coffee also available. The domestic staff were all very friendly and helpful but one or two sometimes seemed to srtuggle with strong accents. As shown in my title the whole house was spotlessly clean and our room was serviced every day with a change of bed linen on the third night. Parking is a different matter. Parking permits are readily available from reception but parking spaces are not ! We spotted a car driving out of the side street near the guest house and were lucky enough to grab the spot before anyone else got there. I could not see another space anywhere so the car stayed put for the duration we were there. Not a problem for us as we prefer to use public transport when away from home. The big plus point is that the house is within 5 minutes walk of all that Bath has to offer. For a 3 star establishment I feel the price is a little on the high side but this is Bath and Bath does carry a premium. My rating is perhaps a liitle harsh. A "good" rating would be more fair but I do not consider the Edgar to warrant a "very good", hence average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    68
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
72
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive upon arrival as the decor in the hotel is tired and worn and could do with some refurbishment. We stayed in a quiet room facing the back, with view of local houses. The space was a bit tight and we had a bit of trouble storing and accessing our luggage. The main problem with our stay was the heat in our room: the sun came out, the temperature in Bath reached 26-27 celsius each day during our visit, and the room felt like an oven upon our return each night. The fan and open window at night helped us to sleep but during the following day the room heated up again. When arriving back, tired after a day of exploring, this was a difficult for us. On the positive side, this hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, major attractions, and great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: In hot weather choose a room facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarbath, Manager at The Edgar Townhouse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are happy you our enjoyed our central location on Gt Pulteney Street. We are only minutes walk from all the major attractions. The house was built form 1780-1790 and is as a result has little more character than modern buildings. We were caught out by the length of the heat wave in July following last year’s summer wash out. As a result we have purchased an air conditioning unit for the room. We hope you enjoyed your UK travels and will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed in the large triple bedroom with my friends; the room was nice and big with a lovely view from the window. Friendly staff, good range of choice for breakfast and its located in a great location. The only main issue I would say about it is the smell of fry every morning when I woke up. But other than that, me and my friends had a great stay in Bath :)

Stayed in June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were very pleased with the way this B&B is managed. From the way the manager (owner?) popped out when we rang the bell to the efficient and friendly provision of breakfast to the map of restaurants and advice on what to visit to the storage of our luggage on our last day, it was all very well done. The staff were all extremely helpful and efficient. We particularly appreciated the suggestion to visit the art museum at the end of the street and to try the free walking tour. The breakfast is plentiful and good, especially the local eggs. Coffee might be improved. The location is fantastic. Everything is within easy walking distance, including the train station, and the B&B is on a beautiful street. There are many excellent restaurants in the area as well as groceries for those who need a few carrots or an ice cream bar. We especially enjoyed Yak Yeti Yak--a silly name but excellent food.

Room Tip: We had a room for three on the lowest floor, which is the coolest. We like to sleep with windows ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms are bright and with high ceilings, as is the case with all 18th century houses, location is pretty enough, staff is nice, the breakfast is good and gives choice, and we had a nice view on a cricket field. Storing the luggage and WiFi internet are free / included. Overall it's a good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights with my wife in May.

The service was good, and we giot a nice breakfast each day. But they need a better ventilator for the cooking, the whole place smelled of cooking at breakfast time.

Bath is a bit pricey in general, and so was this place as well. The room was a bit dated in general, and especially the bathroom. It did work well though. On avg the place needs an update. And again, very friendly and helpful staff. And the location is very close to the main attractions of the city, just a few minutes walk. And we had a room facing towards the park/green - very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fantastic location and the staff were always very welcoming and friendly,having breakfast included was brilliant too. I had the single room which is small and the bathroom is ridiculously small with a pretty average shower! I would stay here again but would make sure i had a double room and on a lower floor,good value for money though in a very expensive city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, T4B and Agoda so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgar Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.