We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family favourite for 6 years!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgar Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgar Townhouse to your Saves list
The Edgar Townhouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Rate Book Direct
Ranked #93 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Surrey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A family favourite for 6 years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

When me an my siblings have been studying at the University of Bath, our family have stayed at a variety of guesthouses and hotels in Bath. With Bath being such a historic city many of the buildings are listed; limiting the owners ability to add extra amenities to rooms, such as ensuites. The Edgar is one of the few guesthouses to have ensuites. The rooms are comfortable and charming, with friendly staff, great breakfasts combined with a beautiful and convenient location it will remain our choice of stay whenever we visit Bath again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    68
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
72
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

As all other reviewers have said before this is a very convenient place to stay at. It is a 5 minute walk across Pultney bridge and into the centre of Bath.
The hotel itself does a great breakfast freshly cooked to order with a great choice.
We had a room at the front which was small and cosy but adequate for our needs as we were out for much of the day. During the day there was traffic noise but at night we were not disturbed at all. Our bed had a lovely firm mattress which was very comfortable As for parking we paid £8 for a parking permit that lasted for the 4 days we were there
All the staff were very helpful and polite and the hotel was clean and tidy.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Bath.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2, small with out-dated decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a large room with 3 beds to fit our family of four. The bathroom was small with a small shower. We had a great view of the Bath Rugby Club from our room in the back of the Townhouse. The location was great - an easy walk across the historic Pulteney Bridge to get to downtown Bath. Very close to shopping, parks, grocery shops and historic sights. The breakfast was good with options for everyone. Our room was above the kitchen so the fried food odor wafted up in the morning but was gone by the time we returned in the afternoon. We had a lovely time here and would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

All the staff where wonderful & the breakfast supplied is brilliant. The building is heritage - Bath is heritage & this place is right in the middle of it & you do step back in time, & keep in mind that the use of lifts was not incorporated into buildings built in the 1700s, but the view you get from the top just takes your breathe away.

Room Tip: If you are not into stairs please advise the staff, but it is heritage listed - but the view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Although I live in Bath, I recently stayed in the Edgar Townhouse, while waiting to move into my new place.

I was very impressed by the overall level of service. The location for visitors to Bath is about as good as it gets, and this is a classic Georgian townhouse. My room was extremely comfortable, and the public areas of the hotel are very well maintained.

The breakfast room is bright and airy. The cooked breakfast is cooked to order, and is very fresh.

All the staff I met during my stay were extremely helpful and polite.

There is also very good wi-fi throughout the house.

I will certainly recommend this hotel to visitors to Bath.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Took taxi from train station but easy walk if I knew better. Easy to get around. Quiet and comfortable neighborhood. Rooms good but thin walls and loud doors. High ceilings. Breakfast included and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed one night and enjoyed my stay. The room was small, but offered 2 twin beds, free breakfast, and was within walking distance to everything. The shower had plenty of hot water, but it was very small. The lounge had a guest computer with free wi-fi, and the breakfast was tasty and filling (made to order Full English or Vegetarian option + fruit and cereal). Rating hotels in the U.K. is kind of tricky, in the U.S. I wouldn't even consider giving this hotel 4 stars, but believe me when I tell you that this is a very good hotel for the price paid. It wasn't posh or immaculate, but it didn't smell old and damp (like a lot of places like this do) and it gave us a nice bed in a nice location for the night.Our room faced the street and we had no trouble with street noise. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgar Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgar Townhouse

Address: 64 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgar Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iption: The Edgar Townhouse is a small friendly guest house located on Great Pulteney Street in the centre of Bath. The house was designed in the classical Georgian style by the architect Thomas Baldwin, and lies on the former estate of Sir William Johnston Pulteney who developed the land and gave his name to the street.The Edgar Townhouse is named after King Edgar who was crowned the first King of England. Edgar was crowned in Saxon monastery, which was destroyed and is now replaced by the abbey, which is a short walk from the guesthouse.When UNESCO designated Bath a World Heritage site put Bath on a par architecturally with the great beauties of Florence and Rome.Great Pulteney Street one of Europe's most magnificent avenues designed by Thomas Baldwin. At one end of Great Pulteney Street is Pulteney Bridge, which was modelled by Robert Adam on the famous Ponte Vecchio in Florence. Walk over this bridge and you are in the centre of Bath, close to the Roman Baths, the pump rooms and the famous Royal Crescent and Victoria Park.Bath is a city of all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, T4B and Agoda so you can book your The Edgar Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgar Townhouse Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgar Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.