We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arguably my best ever meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menu Gordon Jones

Menu Gordon Jones
2 Wellsway, Bath BA2 3AQ, England
+44 1225 480871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 414 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $61 - $83
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Menu Gordon Jones is all about amazing food, with an element of surprise. All Chef's menus are seasonal, locally sourced and offer real value for money. To really tickle your taste buds try our dishes, all served by our friendly staff in a funky setting.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Arguably my best ever meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Difficult to describe in words.

We'd been to the Bath Priory the night before (and enjoyed the experience very much), but Menu Gordon Jones easily topped them.

We enjoyed lunch here with accompanying wine flight.

The food was fantastic. Beautifully presented, cooked to perfection, with wonderful flavours. All arrived in a timely manner, neither too soon or too late. The accompanying wines were paired nicely with the course.

Service was excellent. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly and happy to answer questions.

Value for money, certainly when compared to the previous evening, was very good.

No Michelin star yet, but I'm sure this will change with time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    27
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scoobs11
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having just returned from USA I've had enough of the overuse of the term Awesome however there is no better word to describe the experience we had for my belated birthday meal at Menu Gordon Jones. Every course was fantastic and what really impressed was that the vegetarian taster menu was as similar as possible to the meat equivalent. The 'full English breakfast' course was amazing as was the dessert course. Everything blended perfectly together with some wonderful taste combinations. Add in the excellent service and you have a truly awesome night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham
1 review
“Mouth Watering Explosions of Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked well ahead for a birthday meal for my sister at lunchtime.
Having eaten at most local Bath restaurants; this was a most pleasant surprise.
From the very start the welcome was par excellence with Gordon himself opening the doors for us! The ambience was lit by Murano glass in abundance, including the water jug.
Heston will have to step up if this Tasting Menu maintains the fun and quality we experienced.
Service immaculate.
Well done and can't wait to have the excuse to come again. Jane Ratcliff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A-maze-ing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's taken me an age to get a table for dinner here but oh-so worth the wait!
Theatre on a plate, attention to detail astonishing and I genuinely cannot wait to go back!
Some of the ideas and flavours are absolutely mind-blowing, a genius is definitely at work here and at £45 a head for five courses for food of this calibre, is fantastic value for money.
Bizarre location but then again so is some of the decor within the restaurant but it all adds to the theatre and intrigue of the evening. Love it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Suffused with Soho chic, the decor is simple and understated. The atmosphere is relaxed but expectant. This restaurant, showed with accolades and rave reviews, has a reputation of excellence that must be almost impossible to maintain. Almost. The genius of Menu Gordon Jones is that it serves exquisite food that is grounded in reality - it's all very well being creative and artistic, but this is food that is real, seasonal, local where possible, and substantial. The menu is creative in a fun, playful way - harmonised ingredients with a taste twist in each course, and not a culinary cliche evident at all. But a restaurant is so much more than food. And this is where MGJ has the edge - the sommelier is brilliant. The selection of wines is superb and should not be overshadowed by the food. The sommelier is informative, tireless in his enthusiasm for the wines he has selected and as bold and creative as the chef. This great team is complemented by laidback but quietly attentive staff. We booked to go back before we had even finished our deserts. How lucky we are in Bath to have this gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menu Gordon Jones also viewed

 

Been to Menu Gordon Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menu Gordon Jones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.