We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Menu Gordon Jones

Menu Gordon Jones
2 Wellsway, Bath BA2 3AQ, England
01225 480871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 436 restaurants in Bath
Price range: $48 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Menu Gordon Jones is all about amazing food, with an element of surprise. All Chef's menus are seasonal, locally sourced and offer real value for money. To really tickle your taste buds try our dishes, all served by our friendly staff in a funky setting.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We tried this restaurant because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor, but we were dissappointed. It was our wedding anniversary and although the food was good, after the amount of money that we spent we left feeling underwhelmed by the whole experience. And as much as I hate to say it but some of the dishes weren't seasoned properly, at least not to my nor my husbands taste. For us it's not just about food I think the ambiance is also a big part of the dining experience and I am sorry to say but the ambiance was missing. We don't go out often and unfortunately for us we feel like there must be better places in Bath.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    319
    15
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"A bit disappointed"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went there after reading the excellent reviews on TA. Food was ok, well presented...perhaps a bit pricey and little in the way of atmosphere(there are only four tables in the whole place). Not a spectacular experience. If you have higher aspirations then go elsewhere

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A really different and amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I tried to book for dinner many weeks ahead of my visit to Bath, but nothing was available until two months after my visit; so I settled for a booking for a Wednesday lunch. Given the difficulty of getting a table at this tiny (seats only 14) and wonderful restaurant, I hate to add another five-star review; but I have to be honest: the experience was amazing. There is no menu: what you are served is what the chef decides to cook that day. But it is out of this world. The restaurant, although situated in an unspectacular location, a healthy walk from the city center (when I was a kid I used to catch the bus home from school at the bus stop a few feet from the door), has a nice atmosphere and attractive interior. The chef and his staff make you feel very welcome and they certainly do not rush you. Overall, a really different experience and well worth the hassle of planning a meal months ahead of time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The food was awesome with great service. Everything is presented perfectly. We booked in May and the first Saturday lunchtime available was September. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Great not to have to think about choosing dishes from a menu! We shall be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a pleasure to enjoy a lunch yesterday with fellow foodie friends from L.A. who were passing through U.K. on their way to Italy. We were intrigued to know why there is an almost six month wait for dinner and a two month wait for lunch tables at this tiny restaurant - there's very limited seating (we counted 14 places) Now we understand; superb food, sympathetically presented by young Scottish chef, Gordon Jones. Chef produced very many interesting food marriages - mini haggis sitting on a bed of purple potato puree with a mousse of neaps, topped with deep fried capers was just one of the offerings. A surprisingly good beet and baby onion risotto served with local Devizes beef was meltingly good. A mouth-watering, oh so fresh English shrimp, served tempura style, alongside the freshest mackerel was almost ambrosial. The meal
finaled with a banoffee souffle which was light as a feather. Add glasses of Rioja white and Rioja red and hey ho, more reason to go back to see what this talented chef can create in a different
season. Top marks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menu Gordon Jones also viewed

 

Been to Menu Gordon Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menu Gordon Jones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.