We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous sandwiches and cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandos Deli

Chandos Deli
12 George Street, Bath BA1 2EH, England
+44 1225 314418
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Café, Wine Bar, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Henley-on-Thames
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Fabulous sandwiches and cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Delicious fresh bread and generous, tasty fillings - what more do you want from a sandwich? My husband also had soup and a chicken and ham pie, and declared that both were first class. I had a brownie afterwards, which was full of huge chunks of chocolate, and not at all dry (as so many brownies often are). Our coffees were excellent too, and to round the visit off, we bought some chutney and cider in the shop part at the front. Cost was very reasonable, and the staff were lovely. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice little sandwhich bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Love the selection and atmosphere. Had a quick bite, with little gifts for home before driving back to London.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Coffee okay, excellent range of food to judge by appearances”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We only had a coffee here, which I thought was fairly average, but the place is obviously very popular for takeaway sandwiches and snack lunches, to judge by the amount of customers coming in. They sell a wide range of local produce.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spot-on for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Popped into Chandos Deli on the spur of the moment whilst visiting Bath this week - for a bite to eat over lunch.
We very much enjoyed a bowl of soup and a drink in a warm and welcoming environment. It is obviously a favourite amongst the locals who were constantly popping-in to pick up sandwiches etc for lunch.
Service was first class and the choices extensive.
Would certainly visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunchtime treat?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've dashed to Chandos for a takeaway sandwich on more than one occassion now after a recommendation, but each time have been a bit disappointed that I've ended up knawing on a rather tasteless baguette or sandwich. I'm sure all the ingredients are mega-healthy but my experiences have lacked in flavour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandos Deli also viewed

 

Been to Chandos Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandos Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.