We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew, they did..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee

Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee
6 Chapel Row, Bath BA1 1HN, England (Formerly Colonna and Small's)
07766-808-067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 457 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Who knew, they did..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Who knew there was so much to know about coffee - C&S's knows heaps of beans about coffee...they know good coffee, they make good coffee... and its good!
This trendy coffee house - there are quite a few in bath - is out of the ordinary, set above and hence apart form the rest.
They'll inspire you to try what you like, or to try something new - It's good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    31
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great place!
Probably the best coffee in Bath with friendly, helpful staff - not your average cup of coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Good filter coffee, but sour espresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place makes an amazing cup of filter coffee. Worth the wait. Pleasant and informative staff and nice, but too small for the crowds, location. The espresso, however, with only doubles and without the traditional spouts, comes out too sour. Unlike the filter coffee which is FANTASTIC straight black, the espresso needs a ton of sugar. Might be only worthwhile in a flat white, or I hope they consider going for classic ristrettos soon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxwell c, Owner at Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello there,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the filter coffee that you had with us. Obviously we are less happy that you didn't enjoy the espresso. But thats ok. Coffee is a complex and diverse thing with different preferences.

I am not sure which coffee you had, as you will know from visiting the store, we have three espresso beans on at any one time, our board is very seasonal focusing on the exciting character and variety thats available by using single estate coffee and not sticking to a blend. All of the coffee is indeed a lighter roast and focuses on very different flavour groups to traditional style espresso. At the same time you may have had something like the Gitchathaini from Kenya, which will be typified by bright sweet fruity notes, and will exhibit more sourness per se than other coffees. This will be reflected in the flavour notes on the board.

I still wouldn't call it overly sour but it depends on what your reference point is and what you may be looking for in an espresso. The sugar thing is a little odd, as its the sugar that actually enhances the perception of sourness in these kinds of coffees, and interestingly you would need to add a lot before it came back around. We do recommend all coffee without sugar and I apologise greatly if a member of staff didn't provide you with such advice, as its standard policy and is also reiterated in the table menu.

It is important I think to explain how we approach coffee and what the espresso offerings in the shop represent. The approach we have to espresso is a flavour driven one, we choose all of the coffees by taste, we find and develop a recipe for each before we serve them to customers, all of our doses and shots are weighed for every coffee to ensure consistency. We think the espresso we have on tastes amazing otherwise we would not be offering it. I appreciate people have different tastes, but these coffees are what we have won awards with on a national and international level. Its also what we have built our customer base on.

I really would encourage you to revisit and have a chat with us about the coffee, or if you were only in town for a brief visit then please do contact me via e-mail as I would love to continue this conversation, especially the technical aspects that were mentioned, as a ristretto would be most likely to emphasise the sour acidic notes in a coffee rather than the other way round. You can reach me on enquires@colonnaandsmalls.co.uk

KInd regards

Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Proper Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow, now that's an espresso! Excellent "menu", knowledge of staff impressive and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I make as frequent a pilgrimage to Colonna as I can. Great coffee, great staff, great atmosphere. A little oasis in the city, to cast off the day and it's stresses and lounge, mind untethered and free. Pure joy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonna and Small's Speciality Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.