We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, relaxed atmosphere & great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Coffee Shop

The Bridge Coffee Shop
17 Pultney Bridge, Bath BA2 4AY, England
01225 483339
Improve this listing
Ranked #313 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, relaxed atmosphere & great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Located on Pulteney Bridge.

Pros:
-Helpful and friendly staff
-Cream afternoon tea (2 scones, 1 tea or coffee) good value at £4.25
-Magazines and a newspaper to read
-Free WiFi - ask staff for password
-Views of riverside walk, River Avon and weir on one side and the road/shops on the other side.

Cons:
-Individual cakes expensive
-No toilet (the adjoining sister cafe has an upstairs unisex toilet)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    21
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Yummy cream tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This cafe overlooks the weir from the Bridge in Bath. The cream tea is good value with 2 warm, homemade scones, strawberry jam and clotted cream, plus a pot of tea and milk. All for under £5!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quaint, sweet and oh-so-charming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My mother and I needed to escape the cold while visiting Bath in September 2010, and stopped at The Bridge Coffee Shop, which is in fact right on Pultney Bridge. I recall ordering one thing, but they were all out of the ingredients, so I ordered something like scones or toast. My mother ordered treacle tart which came with clotted cream, and it was SO divine I would go back just for the tart. Overall, it was reasonable service, great food, a lovely view and a very cozy place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and a beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We'd eaten pastries and cakes from here a few times before, but today we felt like sitting somewhere warm to escape from the cold December chill. We'd always figured that there would be a wonderful view from Pultney Bridge, over the weir, but it was much nicer than we'd imagined.
The warm coffee, the amazing cakes and the excellent view made for a wonderful experience. This has to be one of the best views from a cafe in Bath - and the food is excellent too - I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Bridge Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.