We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theatre meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Vaults Restaurant

The Vaults Restaurant
Saint Johns Place, Bath BA1 1ET, England
01225 442 265
Improve this listing
Ranked #312 of 414 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“theatre meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were disappointed with the service at this restaurant. I had explained we were going to the theatre straight from the meal. Although our first course arrived promptly, there was no sign of the main course. This entailed me finding the waiter and reiterating the problem. We did not get our meal until 7.15 and the play started at 7.45. I was not amused at having to eat quickly and not savour the food, which was well prepared. I was treating my mother so I had to rush her as well. All most unsatisfactory. We had no time for what I was hoping was a a leisurely meal. I was told there were problems with the chef, which should be resolved shortly when their new on arrived. A good restaurant should manage to adjust and deal with this sort of porblem

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    4
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, quality and service for pre-theatre dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Tucked underneath the Theatre Royal in Bath, the Vaults is ideal for pre-performance dining. Obviously they are used to quick service. Our starter of prawns was filling and delicious, the seabass main a bit less so, but nonetheless very good. Wines are a reasonable price and if you don't finish the bottle over dinner, you can have it taken to the bar nearest your seat in the theatre for further consumption during the interval (or pour it into plastic glasses and take it in with you). Service is prompt and friendly, the atmosphere both buzzy and intimate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I used to go to the Vaults when I was younger and initially decided to go to be nosy. I have to say, it's amazing in there! I had lunch then booked a table for the following evening.The decor is fun and bright and the staff friendly, well turned out, happy and very attentive. The food is sensational. Very simple but very effective. The evening food is served on rustic boards with a tapas feel. A relaxed atmosphere with no pretentious nonsense. I highly recommend visiting this restaurant, you won't be dissapointed :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So disappointing..............”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Thought it would make sense to have an early pre-performance dinner at Vaults before walking upstairs to the theatre. Starter of fresh water prawns was too cold, no taste to the prawns. Their 'infamous' fish and chips was chosen as a main. Obviously pre-cooked; hard thick dark brown batter sticking to grey cod loin. Minted peas weren't - minted. Triple baked chips were dry and lacking flavour. Tartar sauce out of a jar. Wonder whether any real cooking takes place here at all, got the impression that limited menu slides out of a box around the back somewhere. Didn't bother with dessert, thinking a tub of Lovington's ice cream in the theatre a better value option. Young waitress was polite, but the fellah who we took to be running the place showed no real interest in either serving us drinks at the bar and not even a raised eyebrow in recognition of our parting with £80 for a very poor meal as the two of us left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place for locals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great place. Everybody knows everybody. Come with locals and you are more than welcome

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vaults Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Vaults Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vaults Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.