We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy venue and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mint Room

The Mint Room
Longmead Gospel Hall | Lower Bristol Road, Bath, England (Formerly Bombay Nights)
01225-44-66-56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Glenorchy, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Classy venue and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We went early, and didn't book, but were lucky to get a table, as by 7.30pm it was packed. Shared one of the starter platters, which was fantastic, and the mains were full of flavour, and generous portions.
The staff were very attentive early on, although as it became busier, not quite as much, but it wasn't a problem, and they all had a sense of humour and a ready smile. We were treated to one of their deserts, which they make themselves, and it was amazing. We were said we were too full, and shared it - pear poached in saffron and something else, and coconut icecream. heavenly and a lovely light end to the meal. Definitely going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    110
    44
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited here recently for a family birthday. The food and level of service was absolutely first class, I would strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone. As has been mentioned previously, i was surprised at the lack of what i call "real" poppadoms and dips, the ones sent out were ok but we are all used to a large plate of full size with a larger selection of dips. One thing i think worth a mention is what looked to be a possible problem with the availability of parking locally, this wasn't an issue for our party as we used the train but there didn't seem a lot of space around the restaurant due to being on the main road. The restaurant was very busy so would definitely advise booking well in advance. All in all thank you for a great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner with girls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited here on my cousins hen do after I looked at the reviews on here. The food was great and the service was good even when we were fussy over the temperature and ordering. At the end they brought out a special congratulations plate for my cousin which was a lovely touch and made the meal special. My only complaint would be the lack of poppadoms! We got some small versions with a few dips but we really wanted a big pile of them so share as we were starving.
Great place, highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Busy, lovely food - watch out for the additional service charge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was in on a Monday evening following an unexpected stay in bath at the Holiday Inn Express which is just over the road. Despite it being a Monday night the restaurant was very busy with most tables being used so I would suggest booking.

The menu is impressive but surprisingly for an Indian there are no popadoms on the menu!! However, you do get given a small bowl of with a crushed popadom in it and a couple of dips (no onion or raita).

The food arrived relatively quickly and certainly looked good on the plate. It is a case of both style and substance as the food was very tasty. Value wise I was impressed; a starter, main course with rice and naan with a large bottle of the sparkling water came to £25. However they did add a 15% service charge to the bill which whilst it may have been mentioned on the menu it was not clear.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited last night without a booking, they were very accommodation and found us a table. The restaurant is very busy and seems very popular.

The food is beautifully presented but I would say very average tasting.

We had a booking for this evening which when we tried to cancel they had no record of, looking at reviews, this isn't out of the ordinary.

No reason not to go here but would I go back? No probably not.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mint Room also viewed

 

Been to The Mint Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mint Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.