We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mint Room

The Mint Room
Longmead Gospel Hall | Lower Bristol Road, Bath, England (Formerly Bombay Nights)
01225-44-66-56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a warm welcome, the atmosphere was buzzing. They have got everything just right here. Price is good value for the quality of the cooking. The four of us have never had a meal so good and enjoyable. Two of us ate from the specials list and two from the normal favourites. As the food for the main course was to such a good standard we decided to go for the sweets as well, the dumplings, mixed mango and lime sorbet and poached pears were all good. Excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    110
    44
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian Meal I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I love indian food and have eaten at many restaurants and eaten many a takeaway.. however me and my partner wanted to try the "fine dining" the mint room offered for our 6th anniversary. Usually im not into the whole showy, tiny portions. Luckily thats not what we got at all, yes it was exquisite food, presented beautifully but without all the snobbery most "fine dining" places try and create. The ambience in the place is beautiful really love the decor and seating arrangements. The staff are lovely, did have a slight problem getting one of the waiters to take my order for a rose wine , however got there in the end and he was very sweet!... overall we had a FANTASTIC evening and wouldnt hesitate to return. The price was very good considering the amazing food and service we recieved. The dress code is quite relaxed, we personally dressed up as it was our anniversary but there were people a little more smart/casual. I would DEFINATELY recommend visiting here !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is my second visit to the Mint Room, it was so good before I came back on my second trip to Bath. Our visit was end of November and there was torrential rain we were soaked by time got to restaurant but got warm welcome.
Its so cool with the lighting and sparkling wall covering and general ambience. Had a great Cosmopolitan to start would recommend. Great choice on menu, usual fare plus fish and meat marinated, I had Sea Bass with fennel in sauce quite spicy but great taste. If you cant find something to liking you are very fussy. I had Mango sorbet to finish even that was presented with a flourish, 3 scoops in pastry base with strawberry on top.Reasonably priced as well I hate to think what we would have paid in London.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More culinary wonders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant should be in Bath's top 5. It is so much better than its ranking (today) of 14th.

Try crab cakes or onions bhaji (like you've never had them before) to start. Either will blow your tastebuds away.

For a main, any one of the chef's special menu will delight but so will a madras curry - hot and fragrant. And do try the aubergine mash side dish - delicate, crunchy (with spring onions) and delicious.



Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“MINT ROOM MAKES ONE'S MOUTH WATER FOR MORE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Some Indian restaurants are too ambitious for creating difference without making much of a difference. Some try too hard when simplicity would have been more suitable. Not this one. The Mint Room thrives in ways that only truly great restaurants do.

I've been eating at supposedly fine-dining restaurants for two decades and had not, prior to eating here, experienced anything to match this place in Indian cuisine. From the moment one encounters the stylised interior and is then greeted with a calm, attentive, professional but sincerely warm hospitality by the restaurant's staff to the spectacle of domed, mini Dervish-like poppadoms arriving with dips that simply ooze layers and layers of subtle flavours and taste, you know you are in safe hands, you know you are in for a treat. And, boy, what a treat we had!

When we dined there, on Thursday evening (29th November), we were struck by several outstanding and, to my mind, unrivalled elements that make The Mint Room worthy of not five, but six stars:

1. Its cool ambience, while appearing slightly uninviting becomes seductively appealing as time slips by.

2. Every member of the waiting team, from the person who greets you, to the expert cocktail maker/manager right through to charming Moe (the owner), exudes a courteous and sincere passion and informed understanding of this utterly eclectic establishment. Every gesture made, every statement offered, every answered question is displayed with a delicate and soft classiness that makes you feel privileged without being fussily pampered.

3. The food is unsurpassed in terms of its ability to distil a dynamic range of flavours and tastes; some of which are subtle and must be teased out while others are more immediate. Both hit the 'g-spot' of oral pleasure! The overall effect is hugely satisfying for being sophisticated, multi-textured and deeply-layered in the spice profiles that seep through the dishes.

4. Presentation is beautifully elegant without being threateningly pretentious. Indian food never looked so good nor so attractive as at The Mint Room. There is something quietly artistic and appropriately stylish to the way food is displayed, arranged and garnished, without screaming for attention or putting you off tucking in, for ruining it!

5. The blending of the old and the new; classic with contemporary; urban with urbane makes the fusion of styles never clash but always underpin the ultimate yardstick of a great meal - the WOW factor. Every mouthful is a pleasure that you want to savour and you take your time over, regardless of whether this is a starter; a main or a side-dish.

Don't even consider any other cuisine when you visit Bath as a meal here is likely to transform even the most mediocre of visits into a meritorious and memorable experience all because of The Mint Room! And, for those whose visits are better, match this with a meal made in heaven!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mint Room also viewed

 

Been to The Mint Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mint Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.