We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mini break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Boathouse to your Saves list
The Boathouse
Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice mini break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in room 9 in Sept 2012

First off, neither the booking website or hotel website lists the room's amenities so this is below.

Room contains:
Kettle, tea / coffee and biscuits
Bowl of cadbury eclairs
2 x bottles of water (1 still, 1 sparkling)
Hairdryer (with attachments)
Full length mirror
Apple tv / computer (inc dvd player)

Bathroom contains shower bath with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel provided. Also has 2 x shaver sockets.

Overall the room was modern and seemed finished to a good standard. There was fan noise from outside the window from the kitchen below but this ceased when the pub closed. The apple tv was a nice touch, but although there are usb sockets it didn't recognise devices plugged into it so we were unable to stream from our tablet. Bathroom nice with a good shower.

Downstairs, the pub is nice enough in the Wetherspoonsy style that modern bars seem to go for - but the outside is lovely, right on the river. We ate there one evening and had burgers which were very nice. Breakfast was also decent - served in the conservatory which is a nice setting. Check in itself was a bit confusing as there are no signs for guests so had to ask at the bar where to go. Having said that, a member of staff was very quick to check us in and show us to our room, and staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

Location is a few miles out of Bath, but this is not an issue as it is on the main bus route from Bristol to Bath - nearest bus stop about a 5 minute walk away, day rider tickets were £4.10 each which allows unlimited journeys to Bath and back. Last bus back leaves the city centre at 11pm. Alternatively there is the park and ride car park next door to the hotel, but we did not use this as service stops at 8:30pm. This was £2.50 return pp.

Overall, a nice place to stay and would definitely stay there again if we return to Bath. Very affordable - particularly due to free parking and cheap all day bus travel into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    64
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
90
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had to come up for a business function and decided to bring my Hubby and have an overnight stay and explore Bath. Had read Trip Adviser and was thinking it would be OK.

All staff helpful,polite and friendly, room lovely and very clean. Big squishy bed with lovely pillows and bedding and a good nights sleep. Only issue was a hot day ( the only one this year!) and so left window open and was woken by reversing lorry at about 7am. Normally not an issue as would be up but was going to have a lie in... But thats as bad as it got.

Room Tip: We were in number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband walked in and declared the pub his new Favourite Pub Ever.

Very good food - slightly let down by veggie burger on our second visit, but three out if four isn't bad. Beautiful decor, too. The cod was especially nice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel in August and booked out 4 of the rooms, cannot fault the location - lovely view of the river and right by a park and ride. We were met with confusion on arrival though as tere is no reception of such - we had a look round and ended up asking at the bar for a girl to then oblige us by checking us in on a computer upstairs. The room we had was lovely, clean and a decent size - we also got bumped up to a balcony room which was good.

There was nice touches like a bowl of sweets, a computer tv which you could get Internet etc on however no information pack on the hotel or Bath in general which I found odd. the towels were also quite small and thin. It could so easily gain itself some more stars with some little touches.

The food was very nice and a good varied menu, we did find the food a bit like warm on one of the nights and hadn't been informed of unavailingly items when we placed our order they simply served the meals without in the hope we wouldn't notice. However the manager was very nice and offered us complimentary desserts which went down nicely.

Breakfast is a decent selection for the size of the hotel - I would not expect a massive buffet etc when there is less than 10 rooms.

Overall it is a lovely hotel and I would stay again especially in summer when you can dine al fresco.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

what a lovely place to stay , river on door step, food good ,very nice room all mod cons ,only downside in olympic weeks no bbc tv now thats bad,with all the modern stuff here you d think they could sort that small problem out ,alas no ,you have been warned come on GB we need all the support we can get

Room Tip: if your in olympic weeks check to see if your room has got bbc channels or you ll be watching itv wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel about 7 o'clock in the evening to be shown to a room to find that the room was not ready but we were taken downstairs and given a free complimentary drink. Whilst waiting we ordered some food it was an exceptionally busy day and there was lots of people out in the garden area and we waited a really long time to receive our food. When it arrived to be honest we were disappointed as it was Luke warm and mediocre. When we eventually got to our room we found a lovely big bed, modern furniture and it was exceptionally clean throughout. The only negative for the room was the huge light that had been fitted directly outside the window to light up outside which also did the same to the room! There was a decent selection on the menu for breakfast unfortunately it took over an hour for it to arrive. In my view it's a lovely location with nice rooms but it did appear that the staff although friendly where overwhelmed and struggled to deal with the customers they had.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The locations is amazing. Had a beautiful room with huge balcony. Very good size with very comfy bed for a hotel. Very nice apple computer for a tv and very useful for check emails etc. Food in pub was great and proper food. Prices weren't to bad either and definately get money's worth. Atmosphere was great and staff were more than helpful and even given advise about the city. All in all a great trip to bath and the boathouse just made the city that bit more special, was the cherry on top. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.