We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located cosy hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Redcar Hotel to your Saves list
Redcar Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good located cosy hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was quite worried before arriving at this hotel, due to reading so many bad reviews.
I spent a long weekend at the Redcar hotel for my hen weekend. I booked 7 double rooms for all of us. All the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
There was one room that was not up to our standards, and the staff allowed us to choose another room straight away which was acceptable.
The only downside to some of the rooms was that they were quite hot as their is no air conditioning, but some have fans on the ceiling which helped.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay.
Breakfast was a lovely selection of fruit, cereals, toast and a fry up.
5 minute walk to the main town.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    99
    96
    315
See reviews for
67
169
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Redcar for three nights while touring around Bath and the surrounding area. It's in a pretty good location--a doable 10-minute walk from the train station, and about five minutes to the main tourist area and some great restaurants.

The biggest downside of the hotel is its plumbing; the whole place basically needs a total overhaul. In our first room, water only drizzled out of the shower when it was turned to a setting warm enough to actually use. We complained and were moved to another room the next day. That room had a perfectly functioning shower. However, the toilets in both rooms--as well as those off the lobby--were ridiculously difficult to flush.

I found the breakfast to be pretty standard, as far as these types of places go. There's also reasonably priced Internet at a computer in the bar, and the staff was very helpful when it wasn't functioning for me.

On one night, some noisy guests in the hallway kept us up in the middle of the night, but that's not really the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Wanting to stay near the centre of Bath was a must and the main reason for choosing this hotel as a last minute booking. Staff were lovely and very friendly however the rooms were very substantial and unclean for the star rating of this hotel. The main bedroom area was OK but small things ruined the nice features. The bath room was dirty in that the tiles were stained and the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned well for months. No hairdryer in one of the rooms and the other one needed fiddling with to get to work,

If you want a hotel close to the cebtre and can put up with this down points then go for it - but would look else where myself if revisiting.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIPTON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

As the title says, its all about location at the Redcar Hotel.
Superb for Bath town centre, and all the local attractions, but over priced, and somewhat run down.

Was particularly impressed with the sloping floor in the room, the lack of hot water at night, (however it re-appeared again by morning). The array of fruit at breakfast was truly the finest array of tinned awful looking fruit that I've seen in a long time.

If you just want a place to lay your head close to Bath centre then this is it. (if your not too fussy!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Before heading to England on holiday I had read some of the not-so-great reviews of this hotel. I tried to go into it with an open mind. I was pleasantly surprised by the lobby and thought, "this isn't so bad." Then we were told we were on the top floor and, no, there is no lift. We were on a 3 week holiday, so had large suitcases. We had to down-size our luggage in the lobby as there was no way we could have carried it up three flights of stairs (62 steps....I counted them). The lovely, tiny front desk clerk offered to help, but honestly, I think my suitcase weighed more than she did! After getting up to our room, I was appalled. It was awful. Nasty stains on the ceiling and what was left of the carpets. Bathroom was like something you'd find in someone's home, complete w/little yellow ducky tiles on the walls (and the duckies were the good part!). Bathroom appeared clean, but had dusty corners. Linens were in bad shape. Ceilings low. Very hot, being basically in the attic. Argh! Reading other reviews, I would say it's a hit or miss at this hotel depending on the room your are assigned. We got a clunker. Bed was noisy and hard. Breakfast was good and the employees are all very nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Have just returned from my hen weekend in Bath and stayed at this hotel

Hotel looks lovely from the outside and the lobby is very nice. Lots of stairs - don't expect a lift though as it is a period building!!! The rooms weren't luxury granite worktop rooms with plasma tellys but the price wasn't for that kind of room!!! We had 7 rooms across 3 different floors but we were in pairs so we weren't too far from people we knew. The rooms are small, basic and a bit dated but they served the purpose - i.e get ready,, go out, sleep!!! Our bathroom in room 311 was a bit pants. had no light, only a shaving light, shower unusable due to sloping ceiling and a bit manky looking!!

Beds were a little uncomfortable but they were hardly flea ridden like some reviewers would have you believe.

The staff were lovely, welcoming andf helpful - although the rooms weren't cleaned until 2pm which is a little odd! Bar was VERY expensive - if you go left out of the hotel up to the fountain and do right there is a lovely little pub called the boater (and a newsagents opposite)

Breakfast was basic but the same as you would get (and pay £7 for) in a Travel lodge. only negatives are you had to ask for toast, you had to take your cup up to get tea/coffee as no cups there, there were no fried eggs when i had my breakfast and there were no mushrooms!!! Yes a travel lodge is more modern and "cleaner looking" but the one in bath is above a loud nightclub and on the edge of town (in pub land!!!)

I will definately return to this hotel. There were a couple of hen weekends there but i didn;'t hear anyone - we were very quiet as we were aware of the families with babies staying there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Booked two rooms for the family for a one night stay and other than being in a place with a bed and a roof over your head, it's not much else. The TV is small and doesn't even get access to BBC! It's got some crap City TV channel instead. The lighting in the room is terrible, a single tungsten bulb that puts out more heat than light. One small tiny little fan in an attempt to cool the room during summer. While I can understand that it's going to be used 3 to 4 months out of the year, surely they can do better.

It's upside? The location is fantastic. A 5 minute walk to all that Bath has to offer while still being situated in a quiet residential area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.