We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap end hotel lacking in customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Redcar Hotel to your Saves list
Redcar Hotel
27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Gloucestershire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap end hotel lacking in customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and a number of friends followed suit and joined us by booking rooms at the Redcar for the weekend. We were fully aware that this was the cheapest end of the hotel market in Bath. The hotel itself needs updating but there was nothing untoward on arrival. The room was dark and dingy but it was clean. The bathroom was servicable and other than a very damp ceiling and only one temperature for the shower, there was nothing that couldn't be explained away by the cost.

On returning to our room we attempted to put the side light on which didn't work. We tried multiple plugs and switches but nothing worked. At the same time, we attempted to put the TV on. There were two controllers of which only one seemed to do anything. When it did, we just had a black screen. We tried everything we could think of but nothing worked.

Neither of these were big problems in themselves however, upon check out the next morning I felt it was sensible to provide some feedback and let the gentleman behind the desk know, ahead of the next guests arriving. Having waited for him to finish having a cigarette in the front porch, I explained about the television to be met with a response of "well you must have been doing it wrong, you obviously don't understand how to use it". Shocked at his curt reply, I explained in detail what we tried which was met with a barrage of blame on us. Seeing that he was not willing to accept there was a problem, I moved onto the side light to which he responded, "well it is obviously the bulb isn't it?".

I was trying to be helpful to save the next guest having similar problems but all that I was met with was blame and accusation. The only advice I was given was that I should have come and got the night porter who would have sorted it. There was no regard for the customer, or for the fact that this was supposed to be helpful feedback. The attidtude of this individual was appauling and (despite being able to get over the shoddy hotel) due to the attitude, disregard and lack of customer care of this member of staff, I will never be staying in or recommending this hotel again. It is thoroughly worth paying the £10+ extra to stay in one of the chain hotels or in fact, any other hotel in the city where customer service is considered a neccessary componant to the hotels success.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    88
    91
    289
See reviews for
61
154
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here with 9 of my friends for my hen do. Yes the decor and furniture seriously needs updating, but if you can get past this the sheets are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and its within a 2 min walk to the city centre! Plus it only worked out at £41 each per night, you will definitly not find a central location at this price; but does depend on how fussy you are!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

If you want top end don't come here, we found it all good yes there were a few mlnor problems but for where you are in Bath this is value for money, we were a bit worried when we seen the feedback but need not of worried

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend on a last minute surprise weekend away for his birthday.
Firstly there are a couple of pros-parking on the road and using a meter is cheaper than the hotel (which is £10) if you can get in the hotel car park (!) and it was in a great location close to the shops and bars :)
Now for the cons (there are a fair few!):
We were put in a twin room even though a double had been booked, this was on the top floor with no lift and no offer of help with the bags. Our room was lit with only two very dim side lamps, the ceiling (technically at roof level) leaked rain into the room all night, the shower was either freezing or scolding, it was filthy and the beds were very uncomfortable. When we returned from our lovely night out in the city there was a huge hornet in the room which we managed to get rid of and another in the room by morning! When we told the hotel receptionist about the roof and other problems he made no apology and said he woukd simply shut the room until they had fixed the leak! Nothing else! Absolutely awful hotel and if it wasn't for our night in Bath being lovely I would never return. This place should be shut down until someone who understands customers can take over and overhaul everything about it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went to Bath to go to the last day of racing in 2013. We booked this room cheap, and going with that in mind and low expectations the hotel was even worse than that. It is dingy, the room we were in had fixtures and fittings missing, the old windows rattled when it was windy and the carpet felt sticky to walk on. I also was not impressed by some of the staff who were smoking and chatting loudly right under the window at 7.30am.

Room Tip: ask for a room not with a road view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We only stayed the night but it was just what we needed a clean bed for the night. We arrived early and staff allowed us to use the facilities, which meant we could then go off and enjoy the day. Breakfast was not an issue as there are so many cafes open early within 2 minutes of the hotel. Sometimes people expect a little too much for their money, my bed linen was clean, the room was clean, yes a little tired in places but the economy is hitting everyone. We were more than happy with what we got for our money.

Room Tip: Reccommend the double rooms with en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is not a deluxe hotel, but if you are looking for somewhere that is cheap and central, you will not go far wrong. The location is 2 minutes walk from Pulteney Bridge and the heart of the shopping area. The hotel has a car park (chargeable) in an area where there is no on-street parking at all. The welcome we received from Adrian at the front desk was friendly and informative. The rooms do vary in size, so have a look first and if you're not happy ask to change. As for breakfast, there are numerous local cafes within walking distance offering better fare than any hotel of this size would offer anyway. If you are looking for chic luxury, or a lot of hotel extras, pampering, and are willing to pay top dollar, or are happy to book two nights (as many Bath hotel insist), then this is not for you. If you want a hotel that is cheap and has a great location, then it's worth looking at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Budget Places and TripOnline SA so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.