We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
20 High Street, Bath BA1 5AJ, England
+44 1225 444826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Bakery, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited Patisserie Valerie and was very pleased with my experience. The cakes were as delicious as they looked, the atmosphere was great and the service was excellent, in particular, a waiter called Huw was very polite and helpful. I would definitely return and recommend this cafe to everyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    63
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great little cafe just right for tea or any thing really. The staff are all very friendly and a warm welcome awaits the food is good and coffee is great to when in bath don't walk by

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cream Tea!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Being from Devon I love a cream tea, so when my hubby and i went to bath for the weekend we popped in to Patisserie Valerie for a cream tea and were not disappointed , we enjoyed it so much we went back again for another :) well worth a visit, very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to come for a coffee and a cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a small cafe but it provides great coffee and some out of this world cakes. Perfect place to visit if killing time waiting for a bus or resting weary feet from shopping

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Didn't realize it was a nasty chain restaurant. Disgusting breakfast.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The cakes look great in the window. The decor looks authentic. The sign over the door says, "Established 1926", so I assumed they had been in Bath that long. Silly me.

We went in for breakfast. I ordered the full English. My friend's simple order of toast and butter was fine. My dish, on the other hand, was appalling. The scrambled eggs had been cooked so long and at such high heat that they had the consistency of rubber pellets. The sausages were of the lowest quality, and the mushrooms were overcooked. I am guessing that the food had been first, over cooked, then frozen, then microwaved, then served to me.

The woman at the next table ordered a croissant. She took one bite, and then asked the waitress to take it off the bill, because it was inedible. The waitress did take it off without a problem. Her casual attitude suggested that this was a common occurrence.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Valerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.