We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for lunch or tea ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
20 High Street, Bath BA1 5AJ, England
+44 1225 444826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 465 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Bakeries, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Berkshires
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch or tea ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visited Patisserie Valerie by accident .. We arrived in Bath hungry for lunch .. We saw an impressive display of cakes and pastries in their window .. A quick glance at the menu and we decided we would give it a try and to be honest too hungry to wait any longer for lunch .. I ordered a grilled chicken ceaser salad and my husband ordered the croque Monsieur ... They were both very good ... We were wanting to start exploring so we did not order dessert which means i can't speak to their desserts .. I will say they looked certainly wonderful ! Service was very good .. Staff very pleasant .. This was our first visit to Bath but it will not be our last .. I would not hesitate to stop here again .. !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    76
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't order the Cake or SHAKES”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Shame really, because the atmosphere is nice, comfortable and quaint, but their idea of what makes a tasty cake leaves much to be desired. they could take some lessons from the French, or even the Americans. Their Malts (really just SHAKES) have a sickening taste. I drank about two sips and told them it was awful. They still charged me. Not sure why their Shakes taste so bad, unless it was sour milk or bad ice cream. It tasted like medicine mixed with chalk. I wouldn't recommend this place even for a cup of coffee. There are too many other great places in Bath to stop. Don't waste your time, or your money here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Excellent franzipan tart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stopped by just for coffee, which was very good, and were tempted by the cakes. I had the apricot franzipan tart which was excellent. It was moist and fresh and the filling tasted of almonds just as it should do. The ice creams looked good but we didn't have enough appetite at the time to try them. Service was a bit slow. We tried to order at the counter and were told to sit at a table and someone would take our order. We then waited ten minutes for the same waitress to come to our table notwithstanding she wasn't otherwise occupied.

Worth visiting just for the tarts.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not Great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have been to this chain before but the one in Bath, is more expensive and the cakes we had were actually stale. The coffees were not bad but the price does not justify the products or service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely my fave place for afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

hmmm I think I have written a review for PV in Bath....anyway the place is gorgeous, especially if you can get a sofa! The hot chocolate is very warming and rich, but maybe wouldn't go with cakes (it can get a little too rich but goes perfectly wells with sandwiches- savoury food). I really like the Mille Feuille there, so nice!! but beware the topping is quite sweet. Also try the scones there, best scones I have ever had!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Valerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.