We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bath Postal Museum

Bath Postal Museum
27 Northgate Street, Bath BA1 1AJ, England
44-1225-460333
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 90 attractions in Bath
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Travel a timeline to follow the history of the British Postal System through exhibits and displays on the history of the Mail Coach, air transport and airmail, military mail, sea mail and railways.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After refusing to pay the over inflated admission fees for over attractions in Bath (Yes I know we're tight), we decided to visit the Postal museum and what a great decision.

I found it interesting working for Royal Mail myself, but my girlfriend also found it really interesting. The staff in there are clearly passionate about what they do, which is a bonus. The lady we spoke to was lovely and was interested in our trip to the area, if only more places had people like her!

Overall, it's definetly worth the small admission fee and will keep you and the kids occupied for a while.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a little time to kill before leaving Bath and thought the Postal Museum would entertain us for about half an hour. Well it was small inside but such a lot was packed into it that we didn't get out until over an hour later! It's a charming museum and very interesting. It's well set out with a good variety of exhibits to read, touch and watch giving an idea of the history of the postal system.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Suprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is a small museum but that is reflected in the very reasonable entry price. For the small size it is very well planned out and very informative. The staff were very friendly and are clearly passionate which is lovely to see. If you are like me and enjoy a quirky museum run by people who really enjoy working there then this place is for you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I work for Royal Mail so I had to take a visit... For just £3.50 you can learn alot about the history of UK's postal system. A small and charming museum with a few interactive pieces to enjoy. Alot of information to digest but alot to be learnt! A shop is also there and it's not over priced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Well worth it :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hidden gem is really worth a look when in Bath. For £3.50 you can spend a good hour looking at the history of the postal service and the connections with Bath. There are some quirky exhibits and thoughtful interactive displays.

Although it looks like one small room it really is very interesting. There are not really any facilities, just a small shop, but they have made a good effort to make it accessible with a wheelchair stairlift and chairs to stop for rest when watching the videos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath Postal Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bath Postal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath Postal Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bath Postal Museum to your Saves list