We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice site made the most of what remains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Farleigh Hungerford Castle

Farleigh Hungerford Castle
Farleigh Hungerford, Bath BA2 7RS, England
01225 754026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 90 attractions in Bath
Type: Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Home to the Hungerford lords and the site of their many battles during the Middle Ages, this castle features a magnificent 14th-centuiry chapel of St. Leonard that houses the tombs of past generations, rare medieval wall paintings, and a spooky crypt of lead "death masks."
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice site made the most of what remains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a ruin with only the chapel and one tower intact. The audio tour included in the ticket price made absolutely the most of what little remains. A great place for a picnic and to let the children run about, but historically of minimum importance and expensive for what is there £10 for adults.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Chapel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had an hour to spare before we needed to be somewhere else so popped in on a whim. We weren't disappointed. I love an old ruin anyway, but the chapel and crypt were quite delightful! We did stay longer than the hour we'd given ourselves and made excellent use of the (free with admission price) audio tour, which was highly informative. We only had one issue which occured upon paying when we asked for one adult and one student and were charged for a guide book too despite not asking for one, to which my response was, 'Do we have to have a guide book then?'. We felt this would be a bit cheeky if you hadn't noticed the prices before admission or were in a bit of a rush with children under foot! A lovely place to visit if you're interested in a bit of history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Fascinating Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent two hours at Farleigh Hungerford and thought we really had great value for money. The audio guide is a must; the information is fascinating and it was easy to picture how the castle must have looked at it's best. I thought the chapel with the crypt and coffins were the highlight if somewhat grizzly. I suspect this might be a bit boring for younger kids who would find the audio commentary beyond them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“CRYPTS, AN OLD CHAPEL, AND OLD PAINTINGS ON THE WALL A MUST VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visited Farleigh Hungerford Castle after a trip to Stonehenge. We travelled across Salisbury Plain through some quaint old villages, Farleigh Hungerford has a most impressive entrance which you drive through to get to the car park. After you have paid the £4.10 entrance or free if you are English Heritage Members, you can walk around and read the numerous signs, or get a free audio guide. The chap in the little shop is wonderful, so chatty and makes you feel very welcome. The chapel is resplendent and a small amount of the original paint is still there so very interesting. At the bottom of the chapel to the left there are a number of crypts with old members of Lord and Lady Farleigh Hungerford etc, and there sister. You can then go down to the crypt which is quite small, but holds other family members. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and you can meander around to your hearts content. The small village is beautiful with some amazing old fashioned pub. A beautiful day out and not that far from Bath. In some parts of the castle there are some stenna lifts making life a little easier for some.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fine ruin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

With an interesting chapel. Managed by English Heritage it costs £4.10 (3,70 students and over 60s) Children 5-15 £2.50. So not expensive and the castle and chapel are interesting and there is an audio guide if you want it. Some fine views complete a very pleasant package.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farleigh Hungerford Castle also viewed

 

Been to Farleigh Hungerford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farleigh Hungerford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Farleigh Hungerford Castle to your Saves list