We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free brochures at least” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bath Tourist Information Office

Bath Tourist Information Office
Abbey Churchyard, Bath BA1 1LY, England
44 1225 477101
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 163 things to do in Bath
Attraction details
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Free brochures at least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The woman we spoke to seemed stressed and tired of tourist already. Alarming in May... Maybe just a bad day for her. £1 for a city map that should be free. You don't need to buy it though, Bath is small and there are plenty of maps on display around the city centre. Or download their Bath app.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raglan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Useful inspiration for new places to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The tourist information office contains lots of leaflets and books about Bath if you are looking for ideas of new places to visit. While I was there I picked up some information about ghost tours and boat trips that I hadn't been aware of previously. The tourist office also provides information about free walking tours although you'll need to book early and these are very popular.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Bath Visitor Card - excellent value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Not really a review of the TIC - which is perfectly good and whose staff were helpful - but an endorsement of the Bath Visitor Card, which can only be bought there. The Card, which only costs £3pp, is excellent value for money. It provides either a discount or '2 for 1' admission at many of Bath's museums and attractions, plus some other discounts on shopping and eating out. It seems to have undergone some changes for this year, and several places did not seem to recognise it at first sight, and there are now fewer restaurants taking part in the scheme. However, we got our money's worth from using the Card from visiting just two museums - and with the '2 for 1' deals, it dawned on us that only one of us needed to have bought the card (this might be different for eating out discounts)! Note that the Card doesn't give any reduction at the Roman Baths but discount vouchers are available on online voucher sites. Just one other note of caution - look out for combined tickets for Bath Preservation Trust properties - these might work out (marginally) cheaper than using the Card.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Free, Friendly and Informative 2 hours - what more do you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A free 2 hours tour around the highlights of bath with a local volunteer guide. These run most days of the year from near the baths. Our guide took us around key locations pointing out points of interest, historical connections, facts and figures. He was friendly and informative, happy to answer questions.

Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Free walking tour of Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

While the attendants inside the "information office"- which by the way is really just a gift shop- were not at all helpful, we had received a tip from a travel book to join one of the free walking tours offered from the Abbey courtyard. The courtyard was bustling and it was a little confusing trying to figure out which group was the right tour but once we found it, the tour was wonderful!

Our guide included many interesting anecdotes about the history of Bath and some of the main players in its history. We enjoyed seeing some of the sights that were already on our must-see list, like the Royal Crescent. Amazing value for a free tour. I would highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Bath.

The walk is brisk and lengthy with limited places to sit down, so take that into account if you are traveling with someone who is easily fatigued.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath Tourist Information Office also viewed

 

Been to Bath Tourist Information Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath Tourist Information Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.