We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apsley House Hotel to your Saves list
Apsley House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Bath
cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small & chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a welcoming and charming hotel .... Only stayed one night but will definitely be returning in the winter. I loathe staying in large chain hotels so this was a real find. The beds, pillows, duvets were all luxury .....the rain shower in our bathroom and toiletries were again luxurious. Had a great catch up in amazing surroundings with my sisters and can't wait to book again... Steph you have to be the most courteous hotel manager I have come across. Worth every penny

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    115
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
111
657
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at Apsley Hotel, not only for the magnificent rooms, and awesome English Breakfast, but also because the people were very friendly and accommodating.

Rooms and food can be replicated, but people can't and that's what make the smallest difference, but has the biggest impact on your stay Many thanks for an enjoyable couple of days.

Best regards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel with wonderful & helpful staff. We stayed in the Waterloo room for 3 nights, which was lovely & had panoramic views. The breakfast is excellent & there is always a daily special. Excellent value for money & the car parking is free. It is about 1.5 miles from the city centre but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel or you can use the Park & Ride. The hotel is beautifully furnished, has a lovely garden & the bed was divine. There is an honesty bar if you want a night cap before going to bed. The hotel staff are extremely helpful regarding the attractions of Bath & the surrounding area. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers. How anybody could rate this hotel below very good is beyond me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A beautiful 5 star hotel :)

A very warm and friendly welcome.

Our room was beautiful we stayed in the romantic room a break away counterspy of my boyfriend for my 30th birthday. The room was clean and had all the things we needed.

The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay brilliant.

Breakfast was lovely. Quality and tasty food all served in a cosy dining room.

The location I would say is the only downside. It's quite far - 30 minute walk into the city. There is a bus route though Sunday buses are quite scares. Considering its location I would say its overpriced. But the hotel, rooms, breakfast and service were amazing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different (with different names) and priced at different rates so you can choose s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

From walking through the door , the service given was second to none . Hotel was spotless , Easy to relax in lounge , with an honesty box bar , similar , the bedroom / bathroom was very comfy , plenty of tea & coffee making in bedroom , wonderful breakfast , with daily specials , easy access to town , just jump on a bus (stops outside) , Charlotte St. car park (5 mins. drive) reasonable charge for day . If needed you could order in food , the hotel would supply plates etc . To Jilly / Rafael (best poached eggs I've had in years) and all the staff , thanks for making our break so enjoyable , we wouldn't hesitate recommending , Apsley House .

Room Tip: Waterloo room offers peaceful nights sleep , and what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Number one B&B in Bath is a well-earned title. Jilly and Rafael are smart hosts...there when you need/want them, invisible when you don't. Truly a professionally-run B&B with two dedicated hosts. If there is ANY downside to this B&B, it's the location. It's a bit farther out from the center of Bath than some other options, and the road is called Newbridge "HILL" for a reason (try walking up it in the rain with your wife after a few ciders...not happening). Mostly, though, that means it's a longer walk or cab ride to the action downtown. On the flipside, that means that at night, it's more effort for the noise and hub-bub of a summer hen party to find you while you sleep.

Breakfast is served in a quiet dining room overlooking idyllic hills. A view not to be beaten easily, and a perfect start to the day.

All in all, a top spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely hotel with lots of history. We stayed in one of the lower rooms with private steps up into the garden. Bed and pillows were too hard for me. Hotel is situated a long 30 minute walk, which is ok if you have plenty of time to enjoy sight seeing along the way, but if you want to go out for dinner at night far too long to walk, impossible to park in Bath so taxi is the way to go.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful in our sight seeing requests. Breakfasts were great and the lounge room for pre dinner drinks was a delight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the City, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apsley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.