We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harington's City Hotel to your Saves list
Harington's City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfectly located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We recently stayed at the Haringtons Hotel for 3 nights and had a lovely break away. This hotel was chosen due to it's location slap bang in the town centre and it did not disappoint. I think this is the main selling point of the hotel because it's so easy to just pop back to the hotel at any point for a chill out or freshen up, which is a god send if you've been walking around the shops! The hotel itself was really nicely decorated and very well looked after. Our room (one of their feature doubles) was a little on the small side, but comfortable and ample space for a weekend break - plenty of storage space too. Again this was very nicely decorated. Yes, it did get slightly noisier in the night time, but this is a town centre hotel and you must expect noise once people start leaving the clubs. I found this noise was minimal when shutting the windows anyway. Breakfast was really good with loads of choice. Being in the centre of town there is no parking, but you can pay the hotel £9.50 per day to use Charlotte Street car park, which we have used on many an occasion and have never had a problem there. Probably the only real downside is the price of this hotel - about £150 per night for a feature double. I did expect more from the room for this amount of money and I wondered if we would have just been ok to pay for a standard double and save some cash. Having not seen a standard double though I couldn't comment. I would still recommend this hotel though purely because of its location which makes it the perfect base to explore Bath.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    217
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
85
314
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

After reading some very positive reviews we were looking forward to our 2-night stay, however we left disappointed.

Positives:-
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Prompt room service.
The bed was comfortable
The breakfast was excellent.
Central location.

Negatives:-
Be prepared to carry your bags via confined stair cases up several flights.So not for the immobile or elderly.
Staircase and landings showing evidence of wear and needing attention.
Room was fairly small despite being a "superior double".
Attention to detail needed - unattractive exposed pipework under the sink with holes through damaged tiles - no I'm not obsessive but you couldn't miss it from the loo. Missing screw caps on the bath/shower mixer, loose towel rail on shower screen.
We were concerned that exposed steps down from the ensuite could cause an accident if someone misjudged their footing.
Room cleanliness could be better. There was a discarded contact lense under the dresser. Black hairs on the bathroom floor and in the bath - we don't have black hair. The bedspread was marked and the headboard of cloth had evidence of previous guests contact with it.
Evening Meals - it seems like this is purely offered to meet expected criteria and despite being sold at restaurant prices, it is not cooked fresh on the premises but microwaved. Choice is limited.
Dining room light had a number of dead low voltage bulbs.
There was a lot of noise from revellers through the early hours - I appreciate there's not much the owners can do about that - but be prepared if staying at a weekend.

In summary - it is a town centre Georgian building so there are limitations to what can be accomplished in internal architecture. It is a 3 Star Hotel so don't expect too much. Room cleanliness was disappointing - and no we didnt raise this with the staff, after all why should we as it is their job to ensure a high standard without guests having to point out shortfalls? Evening meals - eat out as it will be cheaper and better. Finish appeared to be a bit "Changing Rooms" with a good cosmetic appearance but let down on attention to detail.

Not good enough for the ratecard I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear guest, I was disappointed to see you were not happy with your stay at Harington's hotel some time ago now. We have made a number of significant changes since you were staying with us in 2010. I hope you are able to give us another chance, which will show you how much better we are now. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a lovely hotel right in the centre of Bath. Having returned from my second visit to this hotel I am delighted the quality of the hotel has not lowered at all. The owner and staff are delightful. And the beds are probably the most comfortable I've ever slept on!
Well done Harringtons and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Central and clean. Staff gave us our own dining room for a birthday meal. Only snags were two flights of stairs to get to our room (in our 70s) and the seagulls make quite a racket first thing in the morning but, of course, this applies all over Bath not just this hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Firstly i'd like to point out that this is the first time i've ever felt the need to complain about a hotel on this forum. I am just extremely dissapointed that a hotel which such high standards as this try to charge £60 for a baby for our stay when we tried to book. The answer i got back was that this did include a continental breakfast which i pointed out wouldn't be suitable for a 7month old child! Not even a travelodge (which i assume this hotel has much higher standards than) charges for babies to stay.

I assumed that this was a mistake in their policy but when asked it to be referred to the manager of the hotel i've not had any response. Therefore we did not book and would request people with families do the same until this policy is changed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

On arrival reception were friendly and held our luggage whilst we used their private spaces in public long stay car park a 5 min walk away. Only draw back was there was someone in the space number they had allocated to us. Fortunately there was another space free so we jumped in that.

Room was on the top floor and quite a hike to get there but staff were friendly and led us there which I thought was a nice touch. Room was very small but functional and with view of the Bath rooftops. Bathroom was very nice with large tiles that looked like bath stone. Lovely toiletries to use.

At first there was loud music coming from the room below which sounded like a hen party. However, this only lasted ten mins and then the party went into town so only heard them returning in the early hours and was not too much of a problem.

Breakfast rooms were very attractive, fresh and bright with window onto the street. Staff were excellent. Very friendly and attentive staff, breakfast came quickly, was hot and we were offered several refills of coffee.

On check out we met the owner I think. She also was great, offered to keep our bags until later and was very warm and likeable.

Location of the hotel is excellent and although room was small it was fine for 2 of us.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Just come back from a sunny weekend in Bath staying at Harrington's. The hotel was perfect for us - we had two rooms both of which were clean and nicely decorated (though we did have a small argument about which two of the four of us was going to get to stay in the black and white art deco room style room with the grey fake fur throws!). The helpful, friendly staff made our weekend easy, and to top it all the breakfasts were delicious. I'd recommend Harrington's to anyone (though lack of a lift might be a problem for some...)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harington's City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.