We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harington's City Hotel to your Saves list
Harington's City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Handy boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, very well positioned for visiting the city. Staff were exceptional , the room we had was beautifully decorated and arranged over two floors ( accessed via a spiral staircase by the reception) . Nice bar area for pre dinner drinks and open late for when you get back too! Parking can be reserved at only a short walk away and well worth the extra few quid as Bath parking can be a pain in the backside! Will 100% use this hotel again, enjoyed thoroughly!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to your liking. We are very lucky with our location being close to everything Bath has to offer. We are also lucky to be able to offer offsite parking, charged at £11 per day.

I do hope we have pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    217
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
85
314
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay at this very well placed, central Bath hotel. As always the staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant. The rooms are very comfortable and just seem to have everything you may need in them. The cooked breakfast was excellent and I just have to mention the fresh orange juice machine, fantastic! Love it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. I am glad that we had the pleasure of welcoming you again for the third time. I am glad that you found all aspects of the hotel to be good and found that staff helpful. W do all work hard to maintain the standards in the hotel. I am glad to hear that you found this to case again.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is the perfect base for a weekend of exploring central Bath, with all the main sights as well as plenty of restaurants and bars only a short walk away. The room was comfortable and well maintained and the breakfast was tasty and efficient. Service was good throughout.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and found the service to be good throughout your stay.

We are very lucky with our location being close to all the major attractions and restaurants,.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lovely charming old building- winding staircases and great rooms / bathrooms. We stayed on the top floor so had a decent outlook over the rooftops of Bath. Pesky seagulls though!!

Fantastic location, helpful staff, very clean and a good breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Bath.

I am glad that you enjoyed all elements of your stay with us. I am also thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be helpful.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location, but enjoyed every aspect of it. It is a lovely boutique hotel in the center of town. We had a room for three - a double and a single, and there was plenty of room. The room was very quiet, except for the sound of seagulls! Delicious filtered water in the room with free refills. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. The only complaint would be that the continental part of the breakfast was not replenished throughout the breakfast time. The morning we ate at 7:30, everything was full and lovely, but the second day, when we showed up at 9:00, most of the continental items were gone. We still had a nice full breakfast served to us, though. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Bath..

Room Tip: Our room was on the back and was very quiet - not really a view, but you are in the middle of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
thank you for your very positive review of you stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to meet your expectations. I am glad you found the added extras to your liking also.

I am sorry you found the continental breakfast to be sparse on you second morning. The girls to regularly top up the buffet and I am sorry this was not the case that day. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your cooked breakfast.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is located just few minutes walk from most of the interesting places in central Bath. It is a small hotel nicely decorated and furnished. That goes for both room, breakfast room and lounge. And it's clean everywhere.
Our room was surprisingly small considering we booked a room a little bigger than standard rooms. But it worked. It was really hot in Bath and we could really have used air-condition but there was non, so we has some hot nights. The hotel provided us with an electrical fan. It helped but not very much.
The breakfast menu and buffet were well assorted including porridge, traditional English breakfast and pancakes. I missed the black pudding but I seem to be one of the few that does that. The quality of the breakfast was good. Only the coffee could be better, and we don't understand why we had to wait so long for the hot dishes we ordered - every day.
The staff was accommodating and helpful though one didn't seem 100% service minded. Example: we wanted to sit at a window table in the breakfast room. It was free but not cleared/set. We were asked to sit at another table. I asked for blacked pudding though it wasn't on the menu and was told they didn't make that any more. The hotel is quite expensive so we expect the staff to go that extra length with reasonable requests.
The wifi works smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for you positive review of you stay. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the hotel.

All of our rooms do vary in size due to the age and the nature of the building. We are happy to discuss your requirements and assist with you room choice. We do aim to make the best possible use of the space in each room to provide both comfort and storage.

I am glad that you enjoyed what was on offer at breakfast. Every breakfast is cooked fresh to order to ensure that is the best it can be. I am sorry you could not have the black pudding as requested. This has been taken off the menu recently as it was not proving popular with guests. I will make sure that this is available to guests if requested in the future.

I am also sorry that you were unable to sit in the table by the window as it had not been cleared. I believe the breakfast waitress showed you to another prepared table so that you did not have to wait. In hindsight maybe she should have asked you to take a seat in the lounge until the table you preferred was ready.

I am glad that all in all you had an enjoyable stay and do hope you stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Bath during our vacation. It is a small, historical hotel right in the middle of Bath. We could walk everywhere. We also were close enough to take a side, driving trip to Stonehenge. Everyone at the hotel was pleasant, friendly and helpful. The woman who made the breakfasts (included with the room) did a delightful job. Everything was delicious! Our bed was comfortable. The only issue we had was that it was warm when we were in Bath and had to rely on a room fan because the hotel isn't allowed to install air conditioning due to its historical significance. When in Bath again, we won't hesitate to stay here, just in a little cooler weather.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us in the hotel . I am extremely please to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and enjoyed the breakfast. We have many positive reviews on the staff as well as our cooked to order full English breakfast.

We are extremely lucky with our location being close to all the major attraction and shops. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harington's City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.