We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not cheap, and a few missed opportunities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harington's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harington's Hotel to your Saves list
Harington's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Bath
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good, but not cheap, and a few missed opportunities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spent 2 nights in late April in one of the "feature bedrooms", a very attractive and quirky room with an iron spiral staircase up to the room - pots of character. Lovely surroundings, great location (a few hundred metres from literally everything in central Bath), and friendly and helpful service. Overall would recommend.

There were a few things though that showed a lack of the attention to detail that I would have hoped for given the distinctly premium pricing. For instance; the shower dial turned and turned to no apparent effect; the toilet seat was screwed on wonky; and the cups provided for the coffee machine were espresso-sized but the only obvious button on the machine produced a mug sized serving, overflowing the espresso cup... All niggles, but could so easily have been avoided and left us with an unequivocally positive impression.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Chris K, Thank you for your review on your recent stay. Happy to see that you had a good stay overall, despite the few niggles you had. Our Nespresso machines have two buttons on them, one for a espresso measure and a second for a double measure of espresso. It is best to then add hot water if you want an Americano. We have now realigned the toilet seat and the plumber is re-threading the shower valve to stop it turning to far. Thanks for bringing these points to our attention as they have now been rectified. We always say to guests if you do have an issue during your stay with anything it is always best to tell us as early as possible so as we can resolve the situation quickly and not cause you any inconvenience. I hope these items did not impact too much on you stay and we can look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    198
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
75
271
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have just returned from a overnight stay at the harrington for our anniversary. The staff were very helpful in checking us in earlier then the check in time and looking after our bags while we enjoyed a trip around the city. Added bonus was that the hotel is under the big ben discount scheme so showing our room key card to selected places like the thermae spa and restaurants meant we enjoyed big discounts to places we wanted to go too. The hotel itself was a 10 min walk from the train station and a 5 min walk to the spa and main centre so local to everything we wanted to explore. The hotel was clean and modern with some quirky touches. We had a bedroom at the rear of the hotel and it was very quiet apart from the noisy seagulls which you hear all the time. Breakfast was fantastic ranging from continental choices to pancakes and a full english (which i would highly recommend as they use fresh local produce) again staff very friendly and accomodating to your every need. They even put our bags in a little side room after check out so we could do some last minute shopping until we were ready to collect them! cannot recommend this little hotel highly enough we have stayed at 4* and 5* hotels which havent been as nice. Would love to go back :)

Room Tip: A room to the rear of the property would be quieter as it is opposite a pub so i would imagine it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us. I am thrilled to read all your comments regarding your stay and glad that your experience with us was a very positive one. I am extremely flattered reading that you found us better than many 4 or 5 star hotels you have stayed in.

We are lucky in our location being right in the heart of the city and only a five minute walk from Bath major attractions.

The Big Ben scheme has proved very popular and offers a range of discounts at many of Baths attractions and restaurants, and is only available at Baths privately owned hotels.

Once again that your for your very kind review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Received an email from the hotel a couple of days before we were due to be staying there which was helpful. One of the points was if we wanted the room ready before 2pm to contact them. We did this and was no problem at all, arrived about 12.30, room was ready and was even upgraded. Room was lovely, street view yet extremely quiet, bed was comfy and room extremely spacious. The hotel was a 2 minute walk from our restaurant and the town. Overall we had an amazing stay and would certainly recommend it to anyone. I know we will be going back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of your stay with us. I am glad that you found your stay to be an enjoyable one.

I am glad we were able to accommodate you request for an early check in. Also I am glad that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade, we are happy to do this should this be available.

I am glad that you had an amazing stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed in this lovely hotel for one night on a visit to Bath with my mother as a birthday present. Everything about this hotel is beautiful and clean. We used the private hot tub and enjoyed a nice bottle of bubbles even when it rained. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the shower was amazing. Will definitely return when I am next in Bath.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for you very kind review of your stay with us. I am extremely glad that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay with us.

I and happy that you enjoyed use of the hot tub, this has proved very popular since being installed.

I am glad that you will return again at that your mother had an enjoyable birthday.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in the city pad apartment. Accommodation was clean and tidy and had recently been refurbished. Lots of space for 2 people. Very friendly staff and parking not too far away. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of you stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the City Pad apartment.

The apartment has recently been refurbished and offers and ideal base for up to three people.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent just a single night at this hotel but we were very impressed and will be returning soon (hopefully!). The hotel is in a great location and the service is excellent, Our welcome was warm and informative, breakfast was yummy and every member of staff that we met were relaxed and friendly. The room was a good size and furnished really well. The only down side for us was the size of the bathroom but it was fine for what we needed it for and is to be expected in a smaller hotel. Try the Salamander pub for a nice pint of Bath Ale - it is just down the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of you stay with us. I am extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff friendly and welcoming. We do aim to have a relaxed atmosphere.

I am also please to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. All of our rooms do vary in size and lay out due to the age of the building. I am glad that you found the room to be comfortable, we have aimed to make the best use of the space available.

I am glad that you will return in the future and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed as a group of six in the townhouse. From start to finish everything was brilliant. You couldn't really get a better location for the shops, restaurants and thermae spa so no need to use taxis. The house was very clean and bottled water and plenty of towels were delivered daily. The hot tub in the patio is a special touch and again spotlessly clean. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
thank you for you very kind review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Premier apartment.

The apartment is perfect for large groups of up to eight people and is right in the heart of the city. I am glad that you found the apartment to be comfortable and clean.

The hot tub at the hotel has proved very popular, and I am glad that you enjoyed use of this.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harington's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone’s throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harington's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harington's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.