We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harington's City Hotel to your Saves list
Harington's City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Polite and helpful staff. Located centrally and close to all the main attractions including restaurants, shops and bars. Would fully....fully recommend the English breakfast in the morning and the squeeze you're own fresh Orange juice!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us.

I am extremely pleased to hear that you had that you found all the staff to be polite and helpful and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We recently installed the orange juicer which has proved popular with guest.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    217
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
85
314
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Friendly and cozy with good sized room and en suite. Breakfast choices good; most items in full English per-cooked and therefore not as fresh as ideal - bacon tough! Overall good value and location ideal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for you review of your stay with us. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and found us to be good value.

I am sorry you found the bacon to be a bit tough. All the breakfast are cooked to order, so I apologise if the bacon was overcooked.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just returned from The Harringtons Hotel on a girlie weekend with my mum daughter and sister
and had a wonderful stay from start to finish the staff were so polite and the owner is so polite
and very helpful I would recommend this charming boutique hotel to anybody and hotel position
Is perfect well done we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for you lovely review of your stay. I am glad you all had a lovely stay with us at the hotel.

I am thrilled to hear the you found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. I am also glad that you would recommend us and that you will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights at this lovely hotel. The location in perfect, right in the centre of bath and about a 5 - 10 min walk from the train station. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The room was small but perfectly formed with a very comfy bed, the only tiny let down being the size of the bathroom, our room did not have a bath but that was no problem but I felt a little claustrophobic in it, everything seemed a little squashed. The breakfast was fabulous with a good choice. The only other tiny let down was when having a nightcap in the bar in the evening the drinks we wanted had run out even though the bottles were there. Still I would definately stay here again if visiting Bath. There is a pub across the road called 'The Raven' which is a must if you like pie and mash.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you are not steady on your feet ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Alyson, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Happy to see you had a great weekend in Bath while staying with us at Harington's. Waking up in the centre of Bath is an exciting way to spend the weekend, with everything on our door step. We have some great restaurant and bars in the city, something for all tastes and budgets. Our bar is always really well stocked so I'm surprised to see we ran out of your favourite tipple. I promise on your next visit we will have everything you need. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

A fantastic location. Very central to all you could want for a break in Bath. Very friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast. Highly recommended. If driving to Bath then definitely pay for the parking as it is very central and through the hotel is a cheaper way of doing it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. Our reserved off-site parking is a real bonus for our guests as it gives peace of mind that there is a space available for you to park when you reach Bath. As I have mentioned before on this forum we are a rarity for a city centre hotel in that we can provide our guests with guaranteed off-site parking.

I hope to see you back at Harington's soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Wow we have just returned from a fabulous stay at this gem of a hotel in the centre of bath, away from the noise. We chose it based on other reviews but our stay exceeded our expectations. Its the little things that matter. Our room was exquisitely finished with unusual touches from which you knew there was a lot of thought put into the whole place. The breakfast is the best we have had at any hotel and we travel a lot. Fresh Juices, Freshly baked breads, and the English Breakfast was to die for. No excess grease you often get in some places. Every request was met with enthusiasm and there was never a problem with anything we asked for. We even wanted a particular Champagne for an anniversary celebration and they ensured it was got. We have recommended it to our friends who are traveling to bath shortly. We can't wait to return. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff at Haringtons.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest, myself and my team were overjoyed to read your review. It is really lovely when we can see people appreciated all the extra things we try to give guests during there stay at Harington's. We are constantly working on further enhancements to our product so you might notice some changes when you next visit. Once again heart felt thanks and we hope to see you back soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed just for the one night with my friend. We are local to Bath but wanted a night away in our 'old' stomping ground without husbands and babes. We know Bath well and I have stayed previously at The Abbey Hotel, but would choose the Harington's over the Abbey next time, much more intimate and friendly.

The room was lovely, clean, decor was up to date, extremely comfy. Great night's sleep, and surprisingly little noise considering so centrally situated.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, convenient parking in Charlotte St Car Park with a permit provided by Harington's. We booked the hot tub for an hour, which was lovely! Great position for shopping and restaurants, tonnes to choose from but best to book if you have a particular preference, we forgot! We have eaten at Jamie's many times but they could not fit us in, Carluccio's did and we enjoyed a lovely meal there.

and breakfast was fab, what more could two tired Mum's in need of a break need? Would stay again and would even take husband : )

Room Tip: Our Deluxe Double to the front was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope you returned back home refreshed after your night away in Bath. Not sure how long you have been away from Bath but we have gained some amazing new restaurants in the city over the last few years. Next time you come to stay please ask our reception staff for some recommendations. We can point you in the direction of the best old and new restaurants in the city. We like eating out a bit too much ourselves so are up to date with what the best current restaurants are.

Especially delighted to see you were delighted with your room comfort and decor. We are always looking to improve our room offering here at Harington's. As we speak the decorator is currently working on one of our rooms. Catch the new pictures on our website soon.

Many Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harington's. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harington's City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.