We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bath YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bath YMCA to your Saves list
Bath YMCA
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Broad St Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bath
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Great location in downtown Bath. Really friendly staff. Large dorms, but with lockers so it is easy to keep your things safe. Storage lockers outside of the dorms as well. Showers are tiny and with low water pressure--but for a hostel, it is decent. Bunk beds don't creak, which is a super bonus with so many in a room. Key code makes coming and going in the middle of the night easy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    83
    48
    24
    5
See reviews for
16
34
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The YMCA fitness center is across the street from the Bath Hilton. The fitness center is fantastic. They have 5-6 classes most days, 3 on Saturday and 1 on Sunday. The fitness classes cost about 4 GBP each. They are very good. Especially like the Body Pump - cardio weightlifting to upbeat music and great circuit classes. The circuit classes are fast paced exercises in the workout room. You are at each station from 45 - 90 seconds. Most are geared to cardio strength training.
They also have Zumba, yoga and pilates classes. Highly recommend. Would like to have this good of excise options at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Ok. I had an awful experience, but it was due to the patrons staying there, and not the facilities or the staff. Great location, my single room was spacious, with a desk and closet, but pretty basic. The carpet was stained and dingy, but the room was clean, as were the bathrooms. The breakfast was fine; the front desk staff were lovely and kind. The security is pretty good, you can't get in to the dorm areas without a key card. The internet connection is AWFUL. I had a horrible night due to drunk A-holes screaming for an hour in the hall and on several occasions pulling on my door knob and banging on my door. Once they were removed by the staff, there was the loud courtyard to deal with - glad I had earplugs, or I wouldn't have slept all night. In general, the place is pretty loud - when someone shuts a door it echoes down the hall, and when I woke up at 8 am the next day, someone had music blasting. My advice would be to stay away from the courtyard side of the building and bring earplugs. Personally, I wouldn't stay again, but it's not due to the staff or facility itself.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front courtyard- it gets loud at night when people come back from the bars and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed in a single room and used the shared bathrooms. The breakfast (free Continental breakfast, very affordable cooked breakfast) was a good way to start the day. They give you a security fob to enter the accommodations area, so it felt more secure. The location is wonderful, a short walk to all the sights in central Bath.

A bonus: I had a great view of the Bath Abbey from my room.

Wifi or internet use (with or without your own computer) is not free; you have to purchase minutes from the front desk. Bring your own towels, shampoo, toothpaste, etc. They only provide soap.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a nice view, or find out which wings have the bathroom that you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here in a triple room which was clean and tidy. We were right next to the shared bathrooms (good showers) and would all recommend this as a cheap alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Fantastic hostel, clean, friendly, located in really nice area. Great view from room windows. The only downside is that you have to pay for using Internet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Basic hostel, but clean and in a good location, although it is a bit hard to find because the entrance is in the alley way. Friendly and helpful staff - breakfast was fine, nothing fancy - hot food available for small fee.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bath YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath YMCA

Address: Broad St Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath YMCA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new and improved rooms will deliver a high standard comfortable hostel room for 2010. The YMCA is centrally located, just a stones throw away from all the major tourist attractions, tempting shops, sensational restaurants, Bath Rugby, pubs, clubs and award winning parks. If you want to be in the middle of it, then the YMCA is the location for you. The old Victorian building is at least 130 years old and overlooks the bustling Broad Street. It houses our dormitory accommodation for groups, backpackers and holiday makers. It also boasts a rather unusual mural on the grand main staircase. All guests have access to single sex bathroom facilities throughout the range of accommodation and all areas have secure access, ensuring your safety at all times. Staff on the 24 hour reception are nearly all locals who know Bath inside out. So we can help you plan your stay, organise and book tours or recommend a place to eat or visit. We will let you know what's on, where's in and what to avoid and what's unmissable in Bath. Guests at the YMCA also benefit from access to our fantastic health and fitness centre, with a great gym, a wicked range of classes for those of you who want to sweat, tone or relax, sauna, sunbeds and the friendliest gym staff you are ever likely to meet. So, if you are travelling but want to maintain your fitness program or just chill out in the sauna - we're the place for you. If you are travelling in a big group we can also offer conference facilities/meeting rooms further catering etc - just ask and we will do our best to deliver! We can accommodate over 200 people a night, so whether you are travelling alone or in a big group, old, young or with children - we have the bed for you. Alongside the warm welcome, we also offer: Continental breakfast in the price, linen included in the price, 24 hour staffed reception, Internet access, Laundry facilties, Towel Hire, No lockout/curfew, Credit/debit cards accepted, Security lockers/left luggage, Conference facilities, Fantastic health and fitness suite, City centre location, Children/families very welcome, Bike parking, No smoking, Tel/fax facilities. If you are looking for value for money, clean accommodation, smack bang in the centre of Bath - then a warm welcome awaits you at the YMCA. Tip! - Saturday nights are very popular - so always try to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bath YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Ymca Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.