We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean, friendly owners, excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Membland Guest House

Membland Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Membland Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Pulteney Terrace | Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean, friendly owners, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at the Membland Guest House the last weekend in October 2010. There was free parking on site, it is situated a short walk from the centre of town, the owners were so friendly and helpful, the guest house was spotlessly clean and the bathroom a pleasure. Best of all was the delicious, tasty breakfast,consisting of the best bacon I have tasted in j20 years! We would stay again if we revisit Bath and would highly recommend this ideal place. So much nicer than an impersonal city centre hotel and so much less expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Rooms clean, fresh and well looked after. Hosts very nice and keen to please. 5 minutes walk from central Bath. Will go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Private parking, crisp, clean house with equally well decorated and large rooms. Lovely en-suite, wardrobe, TV and bedside cabinet. Hosts are a very pleasant and welcoming couple who make the BEST breakfast! Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed at Membland Guest house for a one night stay. It was ideal in every way. Excellent location, free parking, friendly owners, lovely room, and a yummy breakfast. Membland is located just on the outskirts of the city centre. A 5-10 minute walk into the centre passed the cricket ground and over the river. I would definately stay here again and would recommend staying here to anyone who wants a nice cosy guest house with free parking rather than the impersonal service you get at a city centre hotel with the extra parking costs. Perfect!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at Membland for a couple of nights at the beginning of July (during the heat wave). Our room was lovely, although a bit small and we did share a bed which I knew about ahead of time. Lin was very friendly and the breakfasts were pretty much anything you would like. It was a great location and a lovely walk into the centre of Bath.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June. I was in Bath for a school reunion. I stayed in room 1 which is at the back of the house. The room was clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed and tea/coffee facilities. I heard nothing in terms of noise at all. You will be given a key that opens the front door and your room. As I was coming back at stupid o'clock some mornings this access was very welcome. I believe it has 3 rooms in total, which the other guests who were there that weekend also spoke of highly.

Lin and her husband were very hospitable and gave great advice to guests about what to see and do in the area. The guesthouse is very convenient to Bath city centre and the train station. About 5 - 10 minutes or so to the Abbey (depending on your walking speed)

The breakfast was excellent. Locally sourced bacon and sausage - you can tell the difference.

Bath does seem to be really quite expensive for accommodation. Although Membland was the cheapest I found It was still pretty expensive (£75 a night B&B). I think you need to take this into account when looking for any accommodation in this fair city. It is pricey and other far less salubrious establishments charged a fortune - Travelodge, etc were all in the £120 - £130 a night.

The Membland offered convenience, a cracking brekkie, very hospitable hosts and a not outrageous cost ... for Bath.

I had a thoroughly good time here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayes middx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed for two night in march 2009 and could not have asked for anything better. The rooms were exceptionally cleanand welcoming. The breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice. The walk to central bath was flat and pleasant max 10 mins for a slow walker. The only thing i would say is the telly was very small, but you cant have everything.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Membland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Membland Guest House

Address: 7 Pulteney Terrace | Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Hotel Class:4 star — Membland Guest House 4*
Also Known As:
Membland Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Membland Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Membland Guest House to your Saves list