We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ayrlington to your Saves list
The Ayrlington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24/25 Pulteney Rd, Bath BA2 4EZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here three days in June. Free parking and is well located, just 10 minutes crossing the bridges to restaurants and attractions. There is no lift so be prepared to carry up your luggage as there is no one to help which is an inconvenience, but the bedroom was overlooking the back gardens and abbey, with coffee and tea provided,a flat tv and wifi. The bathroom was large, with a bath tub, a chair and all amenities needed. Breakfast was just right for us and the staff is helpful and friendly. We have no complaints.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quiet and have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    166
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
37
383
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Opposite U of Bath, not far from baths and abbey and restaurants. Magnificent, huge room, very well equipped. Large bathroom and bath/shower. Beautifully appointed. Very helpful clerk at check-in. Pretty breakfast facility and better than average breakfast, with the usual items, but high quality.
Parking is tight. Highly recommended, but more costly than average- 140 ff for large king-size bed plus extra bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ayrlington for one night during the week and while it was all OK, it wasn't the luxurious experience I would associate with a five-star establishment and it makes me question the AA's criteria.

Our room was on the top floor at the back, overlooking a well-kept garden. The room itself was OK, but there were a couple of hairs in the bath, holes in the net curtains and a bathroom mirror that had really seen better days. I had requested soya milk so I could use the tea/coffee-making facilities in the room but none was there and there was no-one to ask when we returned from our evening out. It did arrive when requested at breakfast, but it came to the table in the already-opened and used carton with a piece of paper stuck to the side, rather than being presented in a jug.

We didn't sleep very well, because, despite being at the back of the building and wearing earplugs, we could still hear the roar of the traffic on the road and ended up getting up at 6.30am to have a walk by the canal.

According to the AA's website, breakfast at a 5-star establishment should be high quality and include homemade items, local produce etc. It was surprising to see none of this in evidence. Toast (one slice each) was bog standard sliced bread, preserves were normal caterers' mini jars and there was no mention of anything being local or organic on the menu. The menu itself consisted of either a full English or veggie breakfast (no sign of the stated sauteed potatoes) or salmon and scrambled egg (advanced notice required). The continental selection was mini boxes of cereal, yogurt and fruit salad; none of the promised pastries. The breakfast at a Premier Inn is better!

My husband had the veggie breakfast and I asked if I could have beans on toast, but was surprised to receive only one measly slice of unbuttered toast with a small scoop of beans. The staff didn't seem very happy to be asked for more.

I have stayed in lower-graded hotels where the bread and preserves were homemade, the eggs were local and free-range, the bacon organic etc, the rooms came with homemade cakes, even homemade soap in the bathroom. The offering from The Ayrlington just seemed a bit stingy for the price and while it was all fine, I felt it was nowhere near five stars. We wanted a hotel where we could leave the car and walk into the city and on that, The Ayrlington is great, plus the staff at the front desk are very friendly.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the back of the hotel in a bid to minimise the noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Ayrlington is a great little find. A small hotel close to the centre of Bath and all the attractions (about 10 minutes level walk). Unusually for the centre of Bath this hotel has adequate free parking for all guests, a real plus in a city where parking is difficult and quite expensive. The welcome at the hotel was really friendly and this set the tone for the whole stay. Great staff who wanted to help. The hotel is in two semidetached town houses so rooms are good sized as well as comfortable and pretty well equipped. If I have anything to complain about it was that the hotel was very hot as not air-conditioned, but they did supply a fan, and the windows opened.
There is a lovely garden looking to the river and the abbey. The décor is full of Asian art. Very peaceful in a busy area. A small lounge with a bar is available to residents. Breakfast is served but no other meals (there are a host of excellent restaurants nearby). Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the garden and are quietter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just come back from a 2 day stay at the Ayrlington in Bath, and a little confused at the "5 Star" rating. i can only imagine its a 5 star in the world of a B/B as the rooms and hotel are not 5 star standard no gym pool etc . The room was large and cleanish with some parts of the room looking very tired. Breakfast was ok but if busy the room is small but have had better at premier inn oj was not fresh had to ask 3 times for a pot of tea. Staff are friendly and helpfull. location is good 10/15 min walk from roman baths and parking very handy as bath is not a place to park a car. overall ok but 150 pounds a night is a little steep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a lovely stay for one night.Room was a little dusty but otherwise very clean contained everything needed for a comfy stay with a very large bathroom.Staff very friendly and welcoming.Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff. We had a ground floor room overlooking beautiful gardens. A 10 minute stroll takes you to the centre of town where there is plenty to do and see. A minor downside is the residents bar closes at 10pm and so not easy to enjoy a meal out and a nightcap at the hotel. Breakfast was lovely. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24/25 Pulteney Rd, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, specialty shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ayrlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.