We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ayrlington Hotel Bath” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ayrlington to your Saves list
The Ayrlington
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Pulteney Rd, Bath BA2 4EZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Ayrlington Hotel Bath”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in the Abbey room which was at the back of the house overlooking The Wreck and the bowling green. The room was big enough, The bed linen was of good quality but the bed itself was of average quality, in fact I have the same base at home. Being at the rear of the house it was very quiet apart from the rattle of the windows when it got windy.
The bathroom decor was a bit basic and the jacuzzi bath didn't work.
We could not fault the service though, It was our anniversary and Audrey at reception was very happy to supply us with an ice bucket and 2 glasses for our champagne.
Breakfast was lovely but the smell wafting up the staircase was not very appetising.When we got home our clothes that we wore to breakfast stunk of frying fat!!!
I would rate this hotel as average and not 5* as advertised. Free parking was a bonus but it was expensive at £150 a night.

Room Tip: Back of the house as road at the front is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    139
    67
    22
    12
See reviews for
34
305
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked standard room - seen prison cells with more character. Decor was none existent, bed was tiny, room had damp, windows had steamed up, bathroom standard poor, carpet smelly, list continues

Could not bare staying so upgraded to Ivory room - you'd think it would be better right?

Well it was - only a tiny bit better though, id say more like 3 stars than 5 stars. Shower glass broken, bed had seen better days, (suffered back pain and im in my 20s!!) carpet again smelly, robes only one, sheets were not changed and had stains on, etc

All in all - avoid

Note: If anyone from the Hotel is reading, please do not retort with 'look at our awards' rubbish - means nothing if your hotel is of that poor day to day standard

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked at short notice, many of the other Bath hotels were fully booked. Paid an extra an amount for a "superior" room. This room was at the front of the property. The heating was on full pelt and despite turning it off we had to open the window overnight. Big mistake! The traffic noise was unbearable, we hardly slept. The bathroom was poor, the tiles at the shower end of the bath were black with mildew and the bathrom room generally of a low standard for the price of the room and the apparent 5* rating. The first morning's breakfast tasted of burnt cooking oil - the fried bread triangle was burnt, the milk jug had a chip on the spout. This is not what we expected for the money paid. HOWEVER, the staff were friendly and helpful. This place is very much a guest house. The room was large and pleasnt enough.

Room Tip: Don't take a room at the front of the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The look and feel of the Ayrlington was nice though I must admit the decor was a little confusing (buddha statues out in the staircases) Overall we were happy with our one night stay, the room was comfortable and well heated. The breakfast is lovely too as they had vegetarian friendly options.

I couldn't remember the name of our room but I did find the bed we slept in to be too soft. Nevertheless I was able to sleep through and it didn't bother me much since we were only staying one night. I do think that they need to have someone to help with the luggage, I was able to bring up our suitcases but I imagine that it would be difficult for some people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I were looking for an Hotel to stay in for two nights in the city of Bath. We wanted to stay on the university side of the city as we were visiting our Grandaughter who is at Bath Uni. We also wanted a secure parking area where we could safely leave our car! So as you do you look up on google or safari "Where to stay in Bath"and up comes a list of hotels . The Ayrlington seemed to answer our needs. A 5 star luxury hotel nr the Uni with car parking at a reasonable price and as we had tried several more 4/5 star hotels that were fully booked we duly booked the Arylington.
Well when we arrived and went into the so called reception area we couldn't believe our eyes, but we only needed 2 nights so we would wait until we saw our room before passing judgement. My husband asked for a porter to take the luggage to the room as we had one heavy suitcase as we had been away for 2weeks visiting relatives. They said they hadn't a porter so I said ok we'll take it up in the lift. " oh there is no lift" was the reply. You will have to take it up 4 flights of stairs yourself. We complained bitterly and duly climbed the 4flights. A young lady eventually took up our case as my husband had hurt his hand badly and couldnt lift at that time..Fortunately the superior room we had booked was ok and so we made the best of it. The breakfast next morning was served in a very dull and dreary dining room that looks like it hasn't been refurbished for years.and the breakfast we were served was very disappointing. When we complained about it not being a 5 star luxury Hotel the receptionist said they had tried to take it off the Internet and it wasn't them who had put it on. If you all look you will see it being called a 5Star hotel over and over again. It is actually a bed and breakfast place.
The other complaint was their car park. They say there is room for all cars IF everyone parks straight . When we arrived there was no parking space for us and only afterwards did we find out that the staff park there and owner takes up most of the space with her 4x4 .that says it all to us, the guests come last. The only consolation was that on reception there was a VERY nice girl who was most apologetic and did her best to help. All in all if you are looking for a 4/5 star hotel in Bath give this establishment a BIG MISS.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a comfortable stay at this B&B, but at 110 pounds for a small double room (only a queen size bed) we felt it was overpriced.
The room was clean, but rather shabby, with threadbare curtains, and a visibly dusty wall above the shower in the bath. The bath was chipped.
Breakfast was fine, but totally standard. The kitchen door was kept open while we were eating, which made the dining room very noisy.
Public rooms downstairs are spacious and well-decorated.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the house to avoid traffic noise - and there are good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cakeamatsui
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Ayrlington Hotel. I liked the fact that it had free parking and was a quick walk over the bridge into Bath. However, the room we had was at the top of the steps facing the parking lot. I don't know how the staff drag everything up and down those steps, kudos to them.One poor guy was lugging water cases up to a storage closet and I felt I should help him. It is no fault of the hotel that road work was being done outside, and those Brits start early and finish into dark! However, the room was very warm, couldn't close window due to the noise from outside. Would never book this hotel in summer weather. We were warned by the hostess that the tiling in the bath was falling off and needed repair so to be careful they were trying to get it fixed. Personally I won't have rented the room till it got done.We didn't take a shower because it was really grossly dirty looking with the tile hanging off and the tiles really looked like they were half way of the wall. Also several lights in the room didn't work. Room really needed some good reading light near the bed. Not the most comfortable room, chair was wobbly, mattress worn. However, the rest of the hotel was really quaint. Reading room downstairs was very nice.The breakfast was very good, staff very pleasant. I loved the convience of the hotel to Bath, however, too pricey for the room. In the three weeks we spent in England we stayed in some major places, and they were cheaper than here.

Room Tip: Avoid parking lot view, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24 Pulteney Rd, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, specialty shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 16 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The Ayrlington boasts an extensive collection of Chinese and South East Asian antiques.Privately owned and managed, the emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 14 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ayrlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.