We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, peaceful, spotless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oldfields House to your Saves list
Oldfields House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 - 104 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£££>> Up to 10% discount
Ranked #41 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Memphis, TN USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Serene, peaceful, spotless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

Up a steep hill, away from the city center lies Old Fields - a serene and comfortable bed & breakfast in Bath. My husband, daugther and I were greeted and checked in while seated in a common room which contains soft sofas, magazines and newspapers, tea facilities and a computer for guest use. During our July stay, the UK was experiencing record high temperatures. We were delighted to find that our first floor room #7 had a silent, remote-controlled air conditioning unit installed high upon the wall. The staff advised that not all of Oldfields' rooms can be retrofitted with AC, so check with the proprietors if this is important to you. I am sensitive to traffic noise, yet this room was almost absent of outside sounds even though it is on the street side. Recessed lighting provided excellent illumination for reading. The room had high ceilings, beautiful crown moulding and drapery. All were fresh and spotless. The room also contained tea making facilities (with real china), along with shortbreads and bottled water. The room was nicely set with a comfortable King bed and twin rollaway. The bath is modern - very tiny, hardly any space for toiletries - but includes the luscious Moulton Brown bath products. Full English breakfast is included - it was good but not noteworthy. I strongly recommend Oldfields.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    156
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
450
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

My wife and I have recently returned from spending a very enjoyable week at The Oldfields Hotel in Bath. We looked at a number of different hotels in Bath before deciding to book a week at The Oldfields Hotel.
Their website is pretty good but you actually have to go and stay in The Oldfields Hotel to appreciate just how good the place is. The rooms are perfect, so clean and with high quality fixtures and fittings, the air conditioning was a particular bonus as we had very warm weather all week.
The public rooms are decorated to the same high standard as the bedrooms. The breakfast was excellent, superbly cooked and served. I've got to say that the scrambled eggs were the best I've ever tasted!
I cannot praise the owners and their staff highly enough nothing was too much trouble for them and they seemed to really enjoy working there. They certainly made it a wonderful week for us.

  • Liked — Bedroom with air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

It was lovely to walk on the grass in bare feet!! Coming from OZ with our drought, only an Aussie would know how nice it feels.
Sean, Stella, Barbara & Tasha made our 4 day stay memorable.
Nothing was a problem, good chats during and after breakfast. It really was a pleasure to stay with you, and may your individual noted aspirations achieve their potential in the coming years.
Thanks a heap from 2 'mature gentlemen'. Tom & Roger

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

Date: 31 July 2006
Reviewer: Mandy
We have just come back from a 2 night stay at Oldfields with our friends.
Spotless, spacious, beautiful and wonderfully fragrant accommodation. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Reccommended restaurants were sent to us well before our stay with advise on booking well in advance. We chose Tilley's Bistro, which we all loved so much that we are planning to go back there just for the evening, from Salisbury !
We will definately be going back to Oldfields, for us there is no point looking for anywhere else. This is one of the nicest places I have stayed, the air con was a fabulous bonus,very much appreciated after walking back from town [ especially as it was a very hot weekend]. the breakfast was lovely with a very good selection of cereals, fruits, juices, and even a full english, veggie style !
I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

After traveling up the East coast of the UK and back down the West, we had enjoyed a variety of accommodations...all very good to excellent including a five-star resort and one B&B that cost nearly $1000 inclusive of breakfast and dinner. Needless to say, we were skeptical about the Oldfields in Bath due to its more than reasonable price! We were traveling with our l7 year old, slightly pampered daughter, who loved it the minute we walked into this lovely older home filled with character, fresh flowers, tea service, fire place and beautiful staircase. Public and private areas were equally spacious. The best part for all of us was the Oldfield's immaculate guest room and dining area...clean, clean! Details included Molton Brown products, mineral water, an abundance of Scottish shortbread, Jacuzzi, antique armoir and a lovely view of the city. It was a 10 minute walk to all the ambiance that this lovely city has to offer. Oh yes, and the hosts were very friendly! Finally, we were able to show our daughter the reasons why people choose small inns and B&Bs. Don't miss this one!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

We've Just arrived home today after staying at Oldfieds. We've always wanted to go to Bath and did so for my wife's birthday and also to coincide with the Simply Red concert at the Rec in the centre of Bath - just a 15 minute stroll away. Well located and with great views over the city on the walk down the hill. We stayed in room 16 - Four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. This was the first time we had ever stayed in a guest house - we usually stay in hotels.The hosts really made us feel really welcome, gave us some good tips of where to eat (Fishworks - yummy), where to go and how to get there and have definately changed our views on guesthouses - a much more personal service than hotels. My wife is a bit of a fussy so and so but found this place fautless - the first time ever!! We booked early and could see why - this place was fully booked and was popular with many foreign visitors. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

Once again Oldfield’s lives up to my expectation. I love the city of Bath and I am so happy to have found a wonderful B&B to enjoy during our visits. The staff is absolutely wonderful. They were always there to answer questions, give recommendations on restaurants and day trips out and around Bath. Both Stella and Sean are professional, caring and go the extra mile to make sure your stay at Oldfield’s is the best it could possibly be.

They have brochures and books in a beautiful sitting room. The sitting room has a fireplace and a computer. The computer is available for use and is free. This was very convenient. The breakfast room is very classy but warm and friendly. They offer a very good selection for breakfast. You have your choice of many cereals, yogurt, fruit bowl, many other fruits, orange juice, as well as other fresh fruit juices and champagne. They bring you coffee or tea and toast if desired and than you can order a warm meal from their menu. They are very flexible and do everything they can to meet your needs. Sean does the cooking and he is a great chef.

As for the room, like most European B&B's, I wish the room was bigger but the room was nicely decorated and very well maintained. We were in room number 12 it was very clean with a flat screen TV. In the office they have DVD's you can borrow. The window had two sets of glass so you did not have any noise coming in. But the window was also very easy to open. The bathroom we had in our room only had a shower, no tub, but there was great water pressure and the shower and bathroom were very clean. They had Molten and Brown products in the bathroom for guests to use. They also put out bottles of water on the bed stands free for guests.

Oldfield’s does a very good job of taking care of guests needs and letting one vacation in a nice and comfortable atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

If you are in Bath with a car I would definitely recommend a day trip to Stratford (birthplace of Shakespeare.) It is a cute city with theatre (Royal Shakespeare Company), shopping, restaurants and friendly locals. For a smoke-free dinning enjoyment we recommend, Strada (Italian) and “Pizza Express,” they are a chain but have great food, the pizza dough balls and garlic butter are fabulous, as well as the Chocolate Glory dessert!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 - 104 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldfields House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.