We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oldfields House to your Saves list
Oldfields House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 - 104 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£££>> Up to 10% discount
Ranked #41 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Another excellent visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

Once again Oldfield’s lives up to my expectation. I love the city of Bath and I am so happy to have found a wonderful B&B to enjoy during our visits. The staff is absolutely wonderful. They were always there to answer questions, give recommendations on restaurants and day trips out and around Bath. Both Stella and Sean are professional, caring and go the extra mile to make sure your stay at Oldfield’s is the best it could possibly be.

They have brochures and books in a beautiful sitting room. The sitting room has a fireplace and a computer. The computer is available for use and is free. This was very convenient. The breakfast room is very classy but warm and friendly. They offer a very good selection for breakfast. You have your choice of many cereals, yogurt, fruit bowl, many other fruits, orange juice, as well as other fresh fruit juices and champagne. They bring you coffee or tea and toast if desired and than you can order a warm meal from their menu. They are very flexible and do everything they can to meet your needs. Sean does the cooking and he is a great chef.

As for the room, like most European B&B's, I wish the room was bigger but the room was nicely decorated and very well maintained. We were in room number 12 it was very clean with a flat screen TV. In the office they have DVD's you can borrow. The window had two sets of glass so you did not have any noise coming in. But the window was also very easy to open. The bathroom we had in our room only had a shower, no tub, but there was great water pressure and the shower and bathroom were very clean. They had Molten and Brown products in the bathroom for guests to use. They also put out bottles of water on the bed stands free for guests.

Oldfield’s does a very good job of taking care of guests needs and letting one vacation in a nice and comfortable atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

If you are in Bath with a car I would definitely recommend a day trip to Stratford (birthplace of Shakespeare.) It is a cute city with theatre (Royal Shakespeare Company), shopping, restaurants and friendly locals. For a smoke-free dinning enjoyment we recommend, Strada (Italian) and “Pizza Express,” they are a chain but have great food, the pizza dough balls and garlic butter are fabulous, as well as the Chocolate Glory dessert!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    157
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
452
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brescia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

This is a luxury hotel, all the services above B&B standars, room, services, breckfast ,location. A very nice stay in Bath.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Oldfields is a B&B that has their act together, a beautiful Victorian home at the top of the hill over looking Bath, the rooms are clean and modern, plasma TV's, and modern bath rooms. As a single traveller I have come to excpect my room to be less than desireable in most cases. I was in for a pleasant surprise with Oldfileds. They prepared a very nice breakfast with linens and the host and hostess went out of their way to make sure you were comfortable. The only draw back is the trip up the hill to the place, for older travelers I would suggest a taxi going to Oldfields but going into town it is all down hill.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

Oldfields is a charming B&B with clean, spacious, tasteful rooms in a fabulous location. The service was wonderful, the staff is happy to book tours and recommend restaurants, and the breakfast was delicious. Additional bonuses included free internet access and parking. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would definitely go back.

Great restaurants to try in Bath: Sally Lunn's (town center) and Il Tocco d'Italia (located on the river)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Oldfield for the night and had a fantastic stay. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome by the young lady in charge, who sat down with us and gave us some recommendations for dinner etc before showing us to our room. The room was quite small but very clean and beautifully decorated, including a flat screen tv and complimentary Molton Brown toiletries. A feature of this hotel is the small personal touches throughout which make such a difference. The staff at the hotel were friendly, charming and attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast was good, with a fabulous choice of cooked breakfasts or fresh fruit and even champagne if you are brave enough ! My only reservation would be that the time of breakfast (ends at 9:30) and checkout (10:30) are too early, particularly if you're staying for the weekend. These minor points didn't ruin a great stay though and we'll definitely be back for a longer visit soon !!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We stayed at the Oldfields hotel over Easter weekend and thought it was a great place to stay in Bath for a very reasonable price. It's slightly off the beaten track with about a 10 minute walk into town, but that didn't detract from a very enjoyable weekend.
The room was at the top of the house, spotlessly clean and although small, very well appointed and stylish.
Special mention must go to the delightful breakfasts - a full selection of choices from full english to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, proper jam from normal size jars, fresh juices, proper fruit salad and help yourself to fizz as well!
The whole hotel is very tastefully decorated and comfortable with special little touches like mini chocolate eggs (it was easter). The staff were all very pleasent and helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions.
For less than £100 per room per night, we thought it was a bargain and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

I took my boyfriend to Oldfields as a stay in Bath for his birthday. The room was lovely - nice 4 poster bed and really bright clean room and bathroom.

The hotel is 10 mins walk downhill into town and 15-20 back up hill - it was worth the walk though as you got some really nice views on the way there and back.

Breakfast was cooked to order, from 8.30 - 9.15am and was very tasty, although we were mis-advised. - We stayed mid-week and given that this was a birthday treat we wanted breakfast in the room (for obvious reasons!). We were happy to have the continental breakfast as this was all that was on offer to have in your room. On arrival this service was confirmed but as we went out to dinner we were told this was not possible as you can only have breakfast to your room at weekends! It was a pain but didn't wreck our stay.

Can recommend Martini Italian restaurant for a nice romantic meal.

On leaving the hotel there was a problem with their card machine which said my card was declined. The gentleman was not descrete as one would hope and walked down the hall loudly explaining the problem to his colleage who was right at the other end of the hall and past two lounge areas! After they tweaked their machine the card went through immediately so all was well, although i do have to register my dissappointment for the lack of descretion which i found rather unproffesional!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 - 104 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldfields House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.