We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, relaxed & comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oldfields House to your Saves list
Oldfields House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 - 104 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£££>> Up to 10% discount
Ranked #41 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming, relaxed & comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very good with a large comfortable bed and good bathroom. If it wasn't England in April, the balcony would have been superb too! The service was really good, with all the staff seeming to enjoy what they are doing and having a laugh and smile.
The whole atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming from start to end.
The breakfast was all good local produce and very tasty.

The historic bits of bath are about a ten minute walk to get to (15 minutes to get back up the hill!) which makes this a great location to be in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    157
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
452
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
macclesfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Oldfieids is a little gem.We had driven down from Cheshire and found our way to Bath without Sat Nav.
We entered the city and very quickly realised that we were lost.However a quick phone call to the
Hotel [What would we do without our mobile?] We were assured by a very helpful gentleman that we were nearer than we realised,and having noted his directions we arrived at our venue some fifteen miutes later.Given our tribulations as we sort to locate the hotel,we were delighted to be given a hearty welcome from the owner and his staff.
Our room was comfortable and the shower in the bathroom was one of the best we have come across
it being very simple to use.
The Breakfasts were excellent and the diningroom staff helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very warm reception on arrival -
There wasn't enough parking in grounds so we parked on the street with a permit - absolutely no problems. We didn't use the car at all as it was a 10 minute walk into city downhill one way then uphill on return, but we managed it no problem.
Room no 10 had a Four poster, jacuzzi bath and balcony - very clean, comfortable like home from home. Just watch floor gets slippery when you splash from Jacuzzi!
Complementary tea, coffee, bottled water.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful lots of staff on hand at breakfast - staff are very attentive.
Overall stay was great would recommend and return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent a weekend in Bath and two nights at Oldfields House.
How refreshing to be greeted with a fresh pot of tea or coffee on check-in and then be sat down with a map and all the local attractions and ares of interest pointed out on a map.
Very welcoming.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed.
Ten minutes walk (downhill) to the centre of Bath.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We Stayed 2 nights at Oldfields and would say it is a very good B&B.
Upon arrival it was not busy and we was offered tea, and shown around a town map by a pleasant lady.

Room - we had a king bed and it was very comfortable and the shower was very good, true the rooms are not massive but when it's just used as a base it's all adequate enough.

Breakfast - great selection of hot and cold breakfasts and juices, service was very good too.

Location - as you will read, its 10 min walk to town, but on the way back the hill is quite steep, we did it once and from then on just cabbed it (wife was 7 months pregnant) and this ranged from £4- £6.


All in all a very pleasant trip and I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting bath.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Being avid followers of Trip Advisor, we always look long and hard at previous reviews before we choose where to stay or eat. This B&B was getting pretty unanimous thumbs up from previous guests but, we have to say, it was not our experience. we booked a Queen bedded room for 3 nights via the Internet and the pictures of the room looked fine. Many people commented on the friendliness of the welcome on arrival. When we arrived, a rather curt lady ushered us into the small reception area where an equally unfriendly man processed our registration without once looking up to speak to us. He then pushed a small town map across the counter at us and proceeded to give us directions down to the main town, warning us that we might need to get a taxi back up the steep hill. The lady then returned announcing that the main lounge was currently completely full but, if we would care to return later, we could have a cup of tea. She then ushered us past the other guests, who all appeared to be enjoying themselves, up the stairs to our room. It felt like we had just entered a private club for the first time but we knew nobody. On arrival at the room, our first impression was how small it was. There was barely room to walk around the bed and the shower room was the tiniest it could possibly be and still qualify as a shower room. We immediatelyasked if a larger room was available to be told that they were fully booked for that night but we could seek out (and she rattled off a man's name as though we should know it) and discuss with him if we wanted to change rooms the following day. Assuming that she worked there, we would have expected her to do something about it rather than throw the onus back on to us.
On the plus side, the domestic staff and the girls serving the very freshly cooked breakfasts were all very helpful. The room was certainly clean & tidy but it should have been sold as a single room and not pose as a double. It was not that cheap, so we did feel a little cheated. we did feed our feelings back to them on departure, but we have to tell it as we find it.

Room Tip: The queen bedded room would suit you if you are less than five feet tall or travelling alone. They h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Wow we really messed up. We are so sorry that you did not receive the full attention that you expected. Our only excuse is that we were extremely busy with several check-ins and under pressure. Our recollection of your arrival is that we registered your booking in the reception (which although being a little small is still quite tasteful). We explained that the Lounge was very full with other guests that had just arrived, and therefore we would show you to your room first and then serve you tea or coffee in the lounge later when you had settled in. On showing you the Queen room you asked if you could have a room with a bath. Our reply was that we were fully booked and therefore a room change was not immediately possible but that we would check for dates later in your stay. You said at the time that you had probably not looked carefully enough when booking as you had wanted a bath. As for the size of the Queen room, since we only have one room of this type, the pictures, descriptions and sizes given online are specific to your allocated room.
Given that the room height is 8ft and the space around the bed is a minimum of 1 metre, your room tip is possibly less than helpful.
I hope I redeemed myself a little by preparing you a freshly cooked breakfast which I trust you enjoyed.
Please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at the BnB just before the easter break for 2 nights. Its an excellent B&B located within a 5-8 minute walk to the city centre and bus station. Prior park is about a 30 minute walk from the hotel but up the hill and would recommend taking the bus.

Room was great, nice breakfast and the Jacuzzi in the bath was really relaxing. People were really friendly and helpful as well giving us all the help and directions. The room also had a TV and DVD player with a range of DVDs to choose from the lounge downstairs. We watched a couple of films after a day out which was nice.

Its not the cheapest of BnBs and the only thing that would have earned a '5' on the review would be a collection of more recent films perhaps. We also felt that the size of the TV - wall mounted was a bit small for the room when viewed from the bed. Not expecting a 50 inch screen :) maybe a 37'' - Im guessing that the one there was 32'' or probably smaller

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 - 104 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldfields House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.