We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, Terrific Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside

Parkside
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside
Save
You added Parkside to your Saves list
11 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming B&B, Terrific Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Parkside June 1 & 2, 2005 and had a wonderful time. The location is fab, only a 5 or 10-minute walk into town through the lovely park. Room was nice and very clean. Bed was very comfy, too. Plenty of storage space (large wardrobe) in our bedroom and bathroom was spotless, had good water pressure and plenty of towels. Breakfast is served in the garden room and each room has their own table (which I liked). We chose the cooked English breakfast (no extra charge) which was tasty and filling with your own pot of coffee or tea. Only drawback was that there's no phone in the room, which is fairly typical.... no big deal, though. Price was very reasonable - about 68 GBP per night. Great place, would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2004

We recently spent one night at the Parkside in Bath. This is a lovely B&B with well decorated, large rooms and an excellent cook to order breakfast. The hostess was very helpful and the 15 minute walk into town (through Vicrtoria Park) was quite pleasant. It seemed a bit pricey for us (85 pounds/night for a triple) but turned out to be worth it.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2004

We had a wonderful two-night stay at the Parkside B&B in August 2004. We had a quaint double room with modern bathroom (shower only) for £67 per night including tax and breakfast. The amenities are minimal (there's a TV, but no phone or bath products). However, it's a really lovely home with comfortable beds and a beautiful garden out back for relaxing after a day of seeing the sights. The full English breakfast is delicious and filling, and the dining room overlooking the back garden is bright and cheerful. The hostess is warm and friendly, and glad to offer helpful recommendations about restaurants, etc. If you're lucky, you might spot Trudy, the duck who lives in the garden.

The Parkside is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of Bath. It's a leisurely stroll through the nearby park, although there is some uphill walking. Overall, we highly recommend Parkside and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2004

My girlfriend and I were looking for somewhere to stay for Badminton Horse Trials this year, that was not too extortionate as Bath can often be. The Bath tourist office booked us into Parkside, and I cannot recommend it enough. Granted, it is a very simple B&B, and it appears that not every room is ensuite, although ours (no 6) was. But for £67 a night, including an excellent breakfast and quite the most friendly proprietor I have come across in quite some time it is well worth the money. Ten minutes walk will get you into the very centre of Bath, and the Landlady served us well in her recommendation of restaurants in which to eat. Try the Trattoria di Salmo on North Parade for excellent, and good value eating.
Will definitely return to Parkside for next years Horse Trials!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2004

A traditional B&B (no telephone in room). Very clean and beautiful room. Lots of space, pretty decoration, decent size (private) bath. Thoughtful conversion of a Victorian home. Our twin room (#3) had a view of the garden, large wardrobe, and (non-working) fireplace. Wonderful breakfast room and delicious full breakfast. Located about 1/4 mile from Victoria Park and The Crescent. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside

Address: 11 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.