We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant and Cozy Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquae Sulis Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aquae Sulis Guest House to your Saves list
Aquae Sulis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #37 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Pleasant and Cozy Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a family room. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk , but that was okay. Ana was very helpful and she took us up to our room in the attic which was cramped, but had enough beds to let us all sleep comfortably. Being at the top of a late 1800s building ment that our room was sweltering at night, but we could handle it. The inn is a 40 minute walk from the city center, or you could take a pricey bus or taxi. The breakfast was pleasant. Overall, this inn had good service, and the room was cramped, but cozy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bath. Not being in the centre, we do have the advantage of private parking and our Park and Ride bus is very frequent and cheap. It is also now possible to buy an all day bus pass for £4.20. We are, at the moment, in the middle of once in a decade English heat wave which is a mixed blessing! Thanks once again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    142
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
199
164
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful house, great rooms -especially the shower, delicious breakfast, very friendly staff! Regret staying for only 1 night. Also a very convenient location near the citycentre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us - we always appreciate your feedback and any helpful comments. We are glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay in Bath. We will work to maintain our standards and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice Rooms, Friendly & Helpfull staff, Great Breakfast, Fair price

If I had to mention anything on the downside that would be the location, not in citycentre, but that's easy to fix with taxi's or busline.

We were there with a group of 10 guys for a cricket tour. Can't blaim the hotel for the crappy weather... ; )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The feedback is very valuable in the running of the business. We were sorry the weather was so disappointing for your cricket. We are glad you still enjoyed your stay and had some fun in spite of our notorious English weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Enjoyed the B&B the proprietor was very friendly she gave us some travel tips which we followed up on our way to Salisbury.
We were a party of 5needing 3 rooms which were all good sizes.
Breakfast was good and the trip into town by car was easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We find all reviews helpful in the maintenance of our standards and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Aqua Sulis is a very nice guest house.
The staff and owners are friendly and helpful.
The room was nice, a good size, well appointed. The bathroom was also good.
Everywhere was clean and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We read all our reviews carefully and find them very helpful. We are glad that we were able to match your expectations of standards and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weilburg, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Bath was the first stop on our way from Middlesborough to Cornwall. It was our first visit to this area. Though the Aquae Sulis Guest House is not located directly in the city it was very easy to get down town. The guest house is placed directly between two bus stopps. We could park our car in front of the hotel which was very convenient. The reception was very friendly and helpful.
KR from Germany

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review which we very much appreciate as valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your stop-off in Bath a pleasant one. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Although we stayed a couple of years ago, our memories are still very fond of this comfortable and well situated B&B. Recommended by a friend, it did not disappoint. Our very generous room looked out across the town through a spacious bay window. Breakfast provided a fine way to start the day. Bus stop not far down the road was very convenient. Similarly, local pub was only a short walk away, providing typical pub fare in a welcoming atmosphere. We'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your review. We were glad to see you back again and pleased that we did not disappoint and were able to help make your visit back to Bath an enjoyable one. We appreciate very much your comments as useful feedback. Thanks once again and hope to see you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquae Sulis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Guest House

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aquae Sulis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquae Sulis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.