We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars with pluses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquae Sulis Guest House

Save Saved
You added Aquae Sulis Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquae Sulis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best rates book direct
Ranked #36 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Five stars with pluses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Aquae Sulis has everything that a good B & B should have. The bathrooms are modern, the rooms are comfortable, bright and airy, the entire place is squeaky clean, and the breakfasts are sumptuous. Eggs to order, lean, quality ham, croissants or toast, a big bowl of cut fruit, cereals, yogurts, and tea or coffee. There is a pleasant sitting area in the back, a large breakfast room in which one in the evening can have prepared a light supper or enjoy a delivered meal, and a comfortable sitting room. There is even a small bar. A five minute walk in one direction is the River Avon where a pleasant restaurant has seating next to the river and a fifteen minute walk in the other direction is a clean pub with very good food--try the house lasagna. Next door is a bus stop and just down the way toward the river there is a park and ride where one can ride the non-stop into town center a few minutes away. Aquae Sulis is set far enough away from the rode as to be quiet. The pluses to this wonderful B & B are Jane the owner and Ana the manager. They obviously care deeply about the comfort of their guests and are wonderful people. With their presence they create a very welcoming and comforting environment that makes for a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I could not recommend this B & B more highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write such a thoughtful review and we are very glad you were comfortable and we hope you are feeling refreshed after your stay. Thank you again from Jane and Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    119
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
160
142
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

It is a great place to stay in bath, away from horrendous traffic and scores of tourists but near enough to get into town when needed. Lively clean rooms with lots of little extras. Breakfast was lovely and the service was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We do provide a good location in Bath for guests who are looking for trouble free parking and a stay just outside the 'madding crowd'! At the same time we have a convenient local riverside 'eaterie' and pleasant walks. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

very clean - comfortable - quite - pleasant welcoming staff - good access for town or country - car parking (which is a must in Bath) - ticks all the boxes
have stayed here on two occasions and not been disapointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
It was good to see you again and thanks for taking the time to review us. Guest reviews really are our 'shop window' these days and we do really appreciate the time you take. They help us to keep our standards up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located on the edge of Bath city centre, this is a friendly and comfortable guest house well located for access to Bath itself and the surrounding countryside. We have no hesitation in recommending this guest house since it is just about the most flexible establishment we have ever stayed in. The staff were quite happy to literally bend over backwards to give any assistance you might need, and did not wait for you to identify that you needed help. We look forward to visiting there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We very much appreciate all your comments which encourage our staff, who are very dedicated, to continue providing the best service. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Bath is expensive so you expect value for money.This Guest house was clean, well appointed, lovely breakfast, helpful, friendly staff and easy to get into the city centre from. We used a taxi to get into the city in the evening and the nearby park and ride during the day, although it is possible to walk in aswell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us - it was nice to see you again. We find reviews an essential part of our process of self-assessment and our efforts to provide the experience that guests are looking for. Thanks once again and hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Needed to stay somewhere near Twerton while visiting my daughter. I plan to use Aquae Sulis again, welcoming efficient staff, lovely room to relax in as well as public lounge and bar if necessary. Great breakfast. I liked the atmosphere. Shame Bath bed and breakfasts are so expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take notice of all comments which help us to maintain our standards and provide good value. We hope to see you next time you visit your daughter. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel has good location located in living area. Even a bit far from Bath's city center, it's ok for us traveling with a car. The bedroom has clean and comfortable beds, also well equipped with tea/coffee/hot chocolate.The bathroom is great size with full of amenities. The breakfast is tasty and variety of choices. I strongly recommend it to other.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMC2, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are pleased to you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and use them in our on-going efforts to maintain the best standards. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aquae Sulis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Guest House

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aquae Sulis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquae Sulis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.