We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staffs and warm service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquae Sulis Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aquae Sulis Guest House to your Saves list
Aquae Sulis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #38 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
“nice staffs and warm service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stay at Aquae Sulis Guest House with my family only 1 night and had a wonderful time there. My first impression was about the owner service, Dave picked me up from train station. When we checked in the staff also very nice and polite. I feel like home when stay there, the room was lovely decorated. Highlight is Hot Chocolate in room,, please don't forget to try :)
Location is not far for me to walk to city center, price is very reasonable compare to comfort room, cleanliness with full breakfast offer. Do not hesitate to stay here!!

Room Tip: If you need something special, Contact in advance directly with Hotel is highly recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review - your comments are really helpful to us and they will read by many potential guests and thus help us with our advertising. We are pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay - especially the Fairtrade hot chocolate drink in the room! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in the UK and look forward to perhaps seeing you again on your next trip over this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    142
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
199
164
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Usually stay in large chain hotels but fancied a change to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. Also he price was really attractive as we had lots of other activities planned. Worried my husband would not be keen as he like the big hotels in city centres. We loved staying at this guesthouse and all the reviews I read we right. Lovely rooms, really welcoming staff and the breakfast was great.
Location was great with nice walk into Bath or really handy bus stop outside. The local information provided by the owners was great.
Would defo go back to this guesthouse. It was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Great to read your review - thanks for taking the time to post it. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your visit here and hope it was a memorable 40th celebration for your husband . . . perhaps we have won him over from the 'large chain hotel experience' to the more personal 'guest house experience' - Your comments are really helpful to us, so thanks once again and hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Jane and Dave were marvelous hosts for our stay, making accommodations for our quiet New Years celebration. The room was lovely and the shower hot! The breakfast was full English, but my favorite was the alternate choice of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. This now ranks as our favorite B&B!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for taking time out to post your review - it was nice to have you with us over New Years, and I hope it wasn't too quiet on New Year's Eve!! Hopefully you went back chilled and relaxed. We do really appreciate your comments and they will be very helpful to other potential guests who tend to check the reviews before booking - so many thanks and have a good 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I recently stayed in this lovely B&B on the outskirts of Bath with my parents for a couple of days. They had an executive twin room and I had a double standard under the roof. All the rooms were exactly as represented on the website.

We arrived at dusk and were very grateful that the hotel was lit up - it would be easy to miss on a street where all the houses look alike. There's parking space for 6 cars in front of the hotel and it's also possible to park along the road. However Bath isn't really car-friendly so I'd suggest taking the bus that comes by every 15 minutes and stops literally in front of the B&B.

The owner greeted us, she was very welcoming and warm, it was a pleasure to have a chat with her and she made us feel at home immediately. She explained where the restaurants were and showed us where the major attractions were on a map. Our rooms were cosy and quite big, and the welcome tray had everything we could want on it. My television wasn't working when I arrived but it was promptly repaired when I mentioned it to the owner. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well.

Breakfast was plentiful and served in a bright and tastefully decorated dining room. We didn't try the cooked breakfast but the menu looked tempting and varied (not just the full English, but also smoked salmon or kippers). There was a variety of cereal, toppings, fruit (whole or as fruit salad) and jams at the buffet. The person in charge came to serve us promptly and was very friendly.

I really enjoyed staying in this B&B, it's an excellent base to go visiting Bath. I'll definitely come again.

Room Tip: There are rather steep stairs and stick to the ground floor if that's a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your helpful review with its detailed description, observation and hints which all help others to come to a decision when looking to book. We really appreciate your time and are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A wonderful tripadvisor find! Hosts picked us up at the train station and brought our luggage back when we were ready to depart which made the slightly out of town location work perfectly. Very quiet location, but within walking distance of several good restaurants and car rental, and on the bus line into Bath. Family room under the eaves with 2 single beds and a double worked great even with our college age kids. Traditional English breakfast was very satisfying. Hosts were very welcoming and offered great suggestions for restaurants and things to do.

Room Tip: 3rd floor family rooms have nice southern views if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We hugely appreciate the trouble you have taken to review your stay. We are glad that it was a positive experience. Customer reviews now represent the views of the hotel inspector, the management consultant and the advertiser all in one and they are very important to us. It is also very important for everyone here to receive your encouragement and advice and to know that the efforts that they put in are in the right direction. Thank you again and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip through England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall a great spot, lovely hosts and a nice short getaway. Only one critique: the cooked breakfasts were not the nicest, hard toast, tomatoes cooked in meat fat (couldn't eat them as they made me nauseous as a non-meat eater), so I just suggest a better cook. Otherwise, it was very very nice. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. Apologies for your negative breakfast experience. We grill tomatoes and any frying is done in vegetable oil. We are always happy for guests with allergies and sensitivities to communicate this to the chef. It is common practice for us, being a relatively small operation, to cook to individual requirements. We respond daily to many different cooking requests for all items on the menu. Also we consider it to be the prerogative of the guest to reject food that does not meet their requirements so that the chef can put it right. We have taken your comments on board and we hope to improve communication with the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on NYE 2012, when we arrived the staff were very welcoming and asked if we would need a number for a taxi with us having plans for the evening, and also wished us a happy new year in advance....fantastic service!!

The room was clean and very spacious, close to having great character and you could see they clearly do put in an effort for the little finishing touches, although I found some unnecessary compared to the other little tweaks that could have been made (such as the toilet roll holder on crooked, areas where the paint could be touched up etc) the bed was dressed well and comfortable, clean towels and generally very homely.

What really spoilt the visit for us was the breakfast........ There really was a good choice of what to eat but the quality of the food was awful! So bad that my partner actually said to me "would you serve this to a customer?"!!!! It looked as though it had been cooked hours ago, the baked beans were stodgy, the bacon was really dry and it just wasn't presented well! I genuinely would find it hard to make a breakfast look that bad!

This is a real shame because everything else was so good in comparison but we felt that it spoilt it so it would really need improvement! We wouldn't go back for this reason, better off in a 3 star hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froghole, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We were disturbed by the description of the breakfast quality. We do always cook to order and, in the event of not being given any specific catering request, ie 'egg over-easy' etc, we do tend to medium cook the food. We do aim to buy in good quality food, free range eggs etc and our bacon is locally sourced Wiltshire back bacon. We do apologise that this was over-cooked. We will certainly bear your comments in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquae Sulis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Guest House

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aquae Sulis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquae Sulis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.