We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquae Sulis Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aquae Sulis Guest House to your Saves list
Aquae Sulis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #38 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Oxford, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is the third time that we have stayed at the Aquae Sulis and we love it! The rooms are kept to a very high standard, very comfortable beds and have everything we needed, including free wi-fi. A wide choice for breakfast that is cooked beautifully,and some very friendly and helpful young ladies who serve you. We had the Polly Lunn room this time and it was excellent. We will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    141
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
199
162
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just got back home after a lovely two night stay at the Aquae Sulis Hotel. We were greeted on Friday evening by an incredibly friendly reception, who took the time to ask us about our plans and offered to lend any advice that might be required.

The room was very comfortable and clean, with the general decor and maintenance excellent. Breakfast was outstanding and will live long in the memory! Free wifi was an added and unexpected bonus.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to any family or friends visiting this lovely World Heritage City. In fact, I'd actively encourage it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Rooms were very clean and comfortable; staff extremely helpness and pleasant and the breakfast was lovely. Woudl highly recommend to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Great place to stay with lovely staff, the breakfast was great. The only downside was the noise coming from the rafters during the night. We were in one of the roof rooms and kept awake by scurrying, i presume there are birds (hope its birds). Would ask for a lower floor room if we were to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneCarnegie, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for making us aware of the issue of noise on the dormer roof. The feedback is important and we are sorry you were disturbed. We have looked into this and we have established the problem is due to occasional visitations by magpies (generally early morning) which we realise now can make a nuisance noise on our lead and conservatory roofing. They are difficult birds to deal with but we are looking into an appropriate solution in view of the nuisance they can cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

very comfortable B+B, off street parking a priority in Bath, rooms clean and well appointed, WiFI free which was great, breakfast room cosy and facing south, so morning sun. Lovely owners and well priced for Bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed here with my mother last may, and have been meaning to recommend this for a long time, as the trip and the great hospitality has stayed in my memory.

First of all - a bed and breakfast in bath - there seems to be an abundance of them! How do you choose?? Not an easy predicament. And you will never really know what you are paying for until you get there. Who knows if the pictures or the website is true to life, or how far the B&B actually is from town!?

Well let me just say this - with a brilliantly clean environment, extraordinarily helpful host, tasty cooked breakfast every morning, large bedroom, outside parking, wifi, 10 minute walk to town, what else can you ask for!? The host made this stay extra special as she was genuinely interested in our stay and helped us out with so many questions - where to go, what to see etc (I apologise for not remembering her name). I believe you could not ask for a more welcoming visit to this beautiful city! A real cliche here......but it really was a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

my sister and i stayed two nights at this excellent guest house. the owners and staff were very obliging and friendly.We were picked up at the train station by david the owner which was very kind of him and were met at an agreed time at the station with our cases on departure. The rooms were faultless beautiful and clean and spacious. We were visiting my grand-daughter who is at Bath Spa universerty .she came in each morning to join us for breakfast which was very kind of the owner to let her.the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.we went into town each morning and the bus stop was more or less outside the door only complaint the bus fare was a bit pricey and they charged different price each journey.We would defineatly recommend the Aque Sulis to anyone and would like to thank Jane and David for there excellent guest house and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquae Sulis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Guest House

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aquae Sulis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquae Sulis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.