We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquae Sulis Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aquae Sulis Guest House to your Saves list
Aquae Sulis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Great place to stay with lovely staff, the breakfast was great. The only downside was the noise coming from the rafters during the night. We were in one of the roof rooms and kept awake by scurrying, i presume there are birds (hope its birds). Would ask for a lower floor room if we were to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneCarnegie, Owner at Aquae Sulis Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for making us aware of the issue of noise on the dormer roof. The feedback is important and we are sorry you were disturbed. We have looked into this and we have established the problem is due to occasional visitations by magpies (generally early morning) which we realise now can make a nuisance noise on our lead and conservatory roofing. They are difficult birds to deal with but we are looking into an appropriate solution in view of the nuisance they can cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    155
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
222
184
42
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

very comfortable B+B, off street parking a priority in Bath, rooms clean and well appointed, WiFI free which was great, breakfast room cosy and facing south, so morning sun. Lovely owners and well priced for Bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed here with my mother last may, and have been meaning to recommend this for a long time, as the trip and the great hospitality has stayed in my memory.

First of all - a bed and breakfast in bath - there seems to be an abundance of them! How do you choose?? Not an easy predicament. And you will never really know what you are paying for until you get there. Who knows if the pictures or the website is true to life, or how far the B&B actually is from town!?

Well let me just say this - with a brilliantly clean environment, extraordinarily helpful host, tasty cooked breakfast every morning, large bedroom, outside parking, wifi, 10 minute walk to town, what else can you ask for!? The host made this stay extra special as she was genuinely interested in our stay and helped us out with so many questions - where to go, what to see etc (I apologise for not remembering her name). I believe you could not ask for a more welcoming visit to this beautiful city! A real cliche here......but it really was a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

my sister and i stayed two nights at this excellent guest house. the owners and staff were very obliging and friendly.We were picked up at the train station by david the owner which was very kind of him and were met at an agreed time at the station with our cases on departure. The rooms were faultless beautiful and clean and spacious. We were visiting my grand-daughter who is at Bath Spa universerty .she came in each morning to join us for breakfast which was very kind of the owner to let her.the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.we went into town each morning and the bus stop was more or less outside the door only complaint the bus fare was a bit pricey and they charged different price each journey.We would defineatly recommend the Aque Sulis to anyone and would like to thank Jane and David for there excellent guest house and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Aquae Sulis recently and absolutely loved it. The owners were so lovely and the whole place felt homely and like the staff really cared that we were having a good time. Facilities were excellent, everything was clean, breakfast was great, the rooms were very nice etc. The walk into town was nice, but there is a bus available too if you're more pushed for time. All round, we can't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

It turned out to be such a pleasant stay. Immediately entering, we were greeted very warmly by the owner and a couple of her helpful maids. After signing in and getting all the needed info about the area, she took us to our room. She inspected it asking if we saw any one thing we did not like. We told her how perfect the building and room were and did not find anything dirty of out of place. We were impressed to find an IPod dock with remote, updated TV, and other electronics. The room was traditional yet modern. After getting settled we looked over the made pamphlet in the room. It was helpful in every way. Nearby restaurants that they will reserve for you, spas, Cathedrals to see, pubs, and general info about the B&B. It also had directions to all of those. Then, we made our way outside. My wife and I had not been there before nor did we get a previous map of the area. However, we were not a bit confused by the given directions and was given a tourist map for reference. The bus stop is about 40 feet from the B&B, but is a bit over priced. We chose the Park and Ride just a block down the street which was just 5 pound for the two of us. It drops you off in the city center of Bath. The breakfast was amazing the next morning. They had a decent selection to chose from for you to customize your plate as well as a fruit and cereal bar. Fried eggs were cooked to perfection and the fruit was freshly sliced. My wife and I only had one problem with my stay; the bed in the room was more stiff than we like. Overall very cozy, very clean, very welcoming and pleasantly priced for the area. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This Guest House was fantastic from start to finish. To start we were given a very informative and friendly welcome - both directed to use as adults and our 4 and 8 year old children. The family room was perfect with a double room and 2 single beds and plenty of space. Impressed that it had WiFi throughout and an IPod dock in the room, and CBeebies to keep the kids occupied whilst we got ready. The bathroom was clean and bright. Breakfast was amazing with great variety and fantastic service. We were only sad that we had only one night in Bath. However with friends living in Bath we will definitely book Aquae Sulis again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquae Sulis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquae Sulis Guest House

Address: 174-176 Newbridge Road | Newbridge, Bath BA1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquae Sulis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquae Sulis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquae Sulis Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquae Sulis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.