We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pulteney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pulteney House
Save
You added Pulteney House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lovely house in well maintained gardens. We found it very convenient for all the attractions of the city, particularly the Roman baths which were just a short walk away. There was a very pleasant seating area in the garden - we didn't use it, because we had limited time in Bath, but saw others enjoying the sunshine with a glass of wine. We didn't find it noisy, despite having our windows open - the house is on a busy road, but is set back, and our room faced the side garden. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice. The owners were helpful and friendly. Very good value in what can be an expensive tourist area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    64
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
72
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We fell in love with this place the moment we saw it. The owners were lovely and very knowledgeable. Room was small but warmly decorated and cosy. We weren't used to the cold weather outside so happily spent the evenings overlooking the garden. The attached bathroom was spotless. The provided breakfast was excellent and served in a downstairs area. We could order anything we wanted and everything was of exceptional quality. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer than two nights. I will definitely be coming back one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this guest house. The location was good, short walk over the bridge to the center of the city, but be aware that the hotel is located on a busy road, and railroad track in the back!! A bit noisey. This is a family run business and you get to meet the lovely grandmother who'd like to chat, nice and hard working people. Our room was a nice large room in the main house. We had free internet which was great, but the bathroom was very small. All and all good value for the money.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the main house... Avoid the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I enjoyed my two night stay here. I got a nice welcome from the landlady; my single room was small but very clean, and the town centre is only a 10 minute walk away. The best thing about this place is the breakfast - quick, efficient service, and you could have just about anything you wanted...a really good selection. The only downside was noisy traffic from the busy road....but this was only a problem because I was staying during a hot spell and had to have the windows open.

Overall this hotel represents very good value for money, and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lovely hotel, full of character, friendly staff execellent cooked breakfast. Only a 5 minute walk into center of bath, would definately recommend this hotel we were on a hen weekend, but would take my family there to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with a couple of friends. The hotel was within walking distance of central Bath and was very clean and welcoming. The breakfast was amazing- huge freshly cooked full English if you wanted it. I asked for a veggie version the first morning and couldn't get through it all ( unusual for me!) It was cooked to order and the scrambled eggs were fabulous. The garden was gorgeous for sitting out in. My room was a single and was on the small side, but good value. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here as part of a Hen Weekend. There were 10 of us in total. On arrival,we were greeted by the very friendly landlady and showed to our beautiful rooms. The rooms were elegant,comfortable and spotlessly clean.
We went down for Breakfast the next mornig in our PJ's as we felt so comfortable! (We did get some strange looks from the other dressed diners!) The breakfast was delicious with a great choice for all.
About a 10 minute walk from the station. A pleasant walk into the centre of town,taking in the beauty around you!
Can not reccomend this place highly enough!
Thank you Pulteney Hotel!

Room Tip: We had the 2 family rooms and a twin room. All were well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pulteney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulteney House

Address: 14 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulteney House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulteney House is one of the finest guest houses in Bath, providing some of the very best accommodation in Bath city centre. Pulteney House is a large, privately owned Victorian house set in it’s own beautiful gardens. We offer a uniquely restful environment in the very heart of the city of Bath. The guest house is a short walk from Bath city centre giving our customers excellent access to all the tourist and business facilities in Bath.We have a large secure car park with CCTV surveillance;Free broadband use in most rooms (Wi-fi)Computer for the use of Hotel guests free of charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulteney House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.