We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B in the Beautiful City of Bath” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cranleigh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cranleigh to your Saves list
Cranleigh
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates & Offers, Book Direct
Ranked #30 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“B&B in the Beautiful City of Bath”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The owners are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely with variety and choice and good service. We stayed in room number eight. The bathroom is modern and clean although I do not believe mats at the base of toilets are hygienic or necessary. The room was full of frilly bits and pieces (not my style). There was a good size flat screen TV and CD player with a CD library in the entrance (nice touch), a tea and coffee maker which was great. The lamps next to the bed need to be replaced and both my husband and I found the mattress too soft and the pillows very uncomfortable. This was the only bed and pillows we had a problem with out of 8 hotels on this trip. To be fair the owner did state that if we had advised him of our problem with the soft bed he would have had a topper removed which may have helped solve the problem and also advised that the mattress was top quality memory foam (again perhaps just not what we find comfortable). We parked our car in the street free of charge and it was a very short drive to the bus stop where you could leave the car and catch the bus into the centre of town. We loved Bath and provided the bed could be made firmer, choice of pillows provided and the lamps and toilet mat removed then I would stay here again as the people running this B&B were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    101
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
280
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife, my daughter and I spent two nights while visiting colleges. The B&B is in a lovely late Victorian house at the outskirts of Bath with a little garden and gazebo in front. The couple running the establishment is very friendly and helpful and so is the rest of the staff. We had a very spacious room with a huge bathroom with shower and bathtub. The rooms were very well kept with tasteful furniture and nice small touches such as box with sewing and shaving kit, band aids and even some paracetamol. The choice of breakfast was more than adequate, including fruit salad and toast. The price was very reasonable for this level of establishment and service. The only drawback is the distance from town and from the closest restaurants. Two bus lines stop close to the Cranleigh, but they were very infrequent during the weekend. A taxi run to town costs approximately £10. Altogether, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was a "surprise" overnight stay from my partner to celebrate our anniversary. Beautifully presented building which felt immediately inviting as I walked through the front door. Our room was stunning - we had the superior Four Poster bedroom with lots of lovely touches and spectacular views over garden and beyond! We walked down to the Weston Pub for dinner (only 10/15mins depending on how high your heels are) - food and service was very good and competitively priced too!
Breakfast was excellent - the only downside was having to leave this morning to go to work! We will definitely be returning - this is a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lovely house, furnished in Victorian style. Room was lovely with excellent facilities and a wonderful power shower. Friendly staff welcomed us at breakfast each day. Easy to find and a good 35 mins walk into city centre which kept us fit. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Bath.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had room 9 on the top floor which was lovely and big with all the mod cons you could ask for in a Victorian style hotel. The staff were wonderful, polite and friendly throughout the stay.

Our room had a very large, comfy bed which was furnished with all you need for a short stay. The bathroom was also spacious and had a bath and shower over, and plenty of toiletries for the stay.

The breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh fruit and yogurt, cereals, and a selection of cooked foods to order all served by lovely, smiling ladies in a bright and airy dining room.

We were given 2 maps on registration showing where we were and where places of interest were. Also she pointed out bus stops and routes in case we wanted to leave the car behind. We walked into town the first day which was approx 1 and a half miles downhill into the centre, passing the park on route that you can walk through to get to The Crescent.

We had a lovely stay at the Cranleigh and would recommend it to anyone who wanted a cosier style hotel just outside the city centre.

Room Tip: Room 9 is where we stayed for 3 nights. As long as you can climb 2 flights of stairs you get a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Cranleigh for two nights in August. Really enjoyed our stay, great room and cracking breakfast! Would also recomend the Canal Visitor centre and the comedy walk around Bath.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spacious room and bathroom, well kept and stocked. Very helpful staff who provided us with maps and public transport information on arrival. Good location for site seeing and several good food pubs within walking distance if you don't fancy going back into the city centre in the evening. Breakfast excellent - much more variety than most B&Bs and all freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh

Address: 159 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denise, Colin & Tim welcomes you to Cranleigh, Bath our tastefully restored Victorian styled home. Offering a friendly & informal atmosphere with plenty of local information and advice on tap. Located in the quiet suburb of Newbridge with easy access to the city centre and on-site & on street parking available free of charge. Range of individually styled and well equipped with Free Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Fantastic Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.