We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Funky Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla

La Perla
12a North Parade, Bath BA2 4AL, England
+44 (0)1225 463626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Funky Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The decor is brilliant in the restaurant, as is the food. Staff very friendly. The Sangria is also very good. You must also checkout the toilets, the funkiest ever.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    67
    16
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic food and venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolutely delicious tapas here, all underground in a lovely restaurant. Really good value for money, 2 tapas each between 4, plus bread & olives and choc mousse was plenty enough to go around! Friendly and smiley staff make the atmosphere relaxed and the wine flow!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Its just average Tapa's - not sure what all the fuss is about!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant last week for Mothers day having done quite a bit of research on Tripadvisor. We live just outside of London and Tapas is one of our favourite restaurant meals so given the reviews we were looking forward to something special. The restaurant is located in a vaulted basement in an old building and the decor and fittings are very nice. The menu is ok and whilst if offers quite a good choice there are several traditional Spanish dishes missing from it including a Chorizo dish – I have never been to a Tapas restaurant anywhere that does not serve Chorizo in some way or another! The portion size is not large and whilst a couple of the dishes were really nice, the remainder were just average and nothing special. The wine selection is good but expensive. A couple of wines are available under £20 but most are between £20 and £30 which I think is too much – you don’t have to serve expensive wine with Tapas and a carafe of house wine is more than acceptable to most people. All in all, an ok experience but probably not one that will be repeated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The BEST tapas in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This restaurant is by far one of the best in Bath. The tapas second to none. The staff are friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The location is perfect, close to the city center and good bars - Opium and Circo. For tourists and indeed Bath residents I would highly recommended this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This restaurant has real wow factor - perfect lighting and a fabulous entrance once you're down the rather dubious looking steps from the street.

Staff were friendly, helpful and the right balance of attentive and discreet - they don't intrude with the bill if you're holding hands :-)

The food is beautiful and the menu is wide with a heavy emphasis on fish. We had the best squid I've ever tasted from the specials menu and superb scallops. They seem to have three menus - traditional tapas, La Perla re-vamped tapas and their specials. We tried dishes from each and all were good. Desserts were fabulous - a real treat.

Nice wine menu if you like Spanish wine - we had a lovely white rioja.

Definitely worth a visit and great for a romantic meal because of the lovely setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla also viewed

 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.