We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average, poor breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bath Waterside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Bath Waterside to your Saves list
Travelodge Bath Waterside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very average, poor breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was clean and the bed comfortable, basic but cleaned daily and I had a nice quiet corner of the hotel. The breakfast was however a disappointment. We could not find a clean table anyway, it appeared that all the tables had been wiped with a really dirty cloth, quite off putting. The coffee machine had run out of coffee and their was a lack of cutlery. Such a shame as the view from the dining room was lovely.We ate breakfast elsewhere for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear sally c, we’re sorry to learn of your disappointment with the service you received in our bar café. We do expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times and ensure the bar café is clean and tidy. The hotel will be made aware of the feedback that you have left which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    191
    123
    61
    41
See reviews for
99
270
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Upon arrival I had to interrupt the laughing and joking from the office in order to check and when the receptionist did arrive things were still being said across the counter. So great start wouldn't you say. The hotel looked ok. The reception was clean and tidy, as were the corridors and the bedroom but the bathroom most certainly wasn't. I can accept budget hotels not providing extras but I would have hoped that my extremely high priced budget hotel would be able to afford someone to clean my bathroom. Our toilet was brown below the toilet line, and had a stained floor around the base and the toilet seat was cracked. The sink was blocked and took a while to drain. The bath plug hole was full of hair. All of the chrome was water marked. The what I suppose was once white shower curtain contained some brown stains. So this was all within an hour of arriving at the hotel. The phrase money well spent was not at the forefront of my mind. The only benefit of this hotel is its proximity to the town but if you are nervous of groups of strangers do not walk down the canal as it attracts a lot of homeless people.
We went for a drink in the evening in the bar where we had to wait 5 minutes for a waitress to acknowledge us. What she didn't realise was that the bar man had walked off 20 minutes previously and had told a guest to pass on the message. We were glad we chose not too eat here as there was not a clean table in the bar. We were given the impression that the waitress was cooking as well as serving and as it turned out running the bar.
My final little moan is the parking. This hotel was the last of 6 in 6 nights as myself and my wife travelled the west country and not once were we expected to pay for parking and that includes the Travelodge in St Austell. Our registrations were taken on check in and that was that.

Room Tip: Maybe one overlooking the canal. Ours was 124 I think which was alongside the main road which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear TUBB1985, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our Bath Waterside hotel. We expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times and the bathrooms should be cleaned to a specific standard. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We waited 10 minutes for someone to arrive at the desk to check us in. Arrived at the room directly beside a massive air con unit outside which was so loud that we had to move.

The receptionist was lovely and moved us straight away. The new room was better, still small but clean and quiet.

Very short walk to town and great value for money especially in Bath.
We would use again but probably only for 1 night stays when we knew that we would not be in the room for long.

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed next to the noisiest air con in the world if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just revisited bath travelodge, we stay here often because we like to cycle to Bristol and the other way to Bradford on Avon, the travelodge is a perfect Location to do this and not to have to move the car, the last few times we noticed that the whole hotel was in desperate need of up dating, the beds needed replacing too,
However what a surprise we. Had this time, completely refurbished and new comfy beds, perfect just what was needed,
we will now look forward to returning again and again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room facing the car park are noisy, particularly as smokers tend to congregate and when they have had a few have no idea how their noise carries.

Problems with room and public area cleanliness.

Breakfast poor - items a slow to be refilled when they run out.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Fiji-Bruce, we are sorry to hear of your disappointing stay and that you found the hotel to be noisy. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel, we cannot always prevent external noise. We are also concerned to learn of the cleanliness issues you have raised, please be assured that all customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hx
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having not read the hotel details properly, I wasn't aware that check in wasn't until 3pm. We were informed of this in a very un-polite manner, and advised that we could pay £10 to check in early. So we took our bags back to the car, asking about the complicated parking charges for the car park, and as we had already paid, the receptionist gave us a slip of paper to say we were guests of the hotel; I didn't check what she had written until I removed it from the windscreen, and due to what I presume was our accent she'd written down the wrong registration number.
On returning to check in we were given room 1, which I was sure had had bad things written about it, as it is the first room on the ground floor, but I couldn't remember what.
The room was large, and had a bath (which I always find a bonus), but seemed to have been decorated to resemble a Premier Inn, but with a different colour scheme.
The down sides were the constant slamming doors all night, and the small towels that were provided; bath towels rather than bath sheets. Someone else had commented that the only toiletries provided was a small slither of soap, and it is the smallest bar of soap ever. I had a recollection that Travelodge used to try and sell additional toiletries, such as shower gel, and toothpaste, but they seem to have stopped doing the constant sell of additional items, and meals.
The hotel is very convenient for the city centre, and railway station. For breakfast we chose to go to a Wetherspoons about 15 minutes away, as they have a vegetarian option.

Room Tip: Take big towels, the ones provided are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear cdaHx, we’re sorry to hear of your disappointing stay and the disruption you experienced from other customers. We expect all staff to be polite and helpful at all times by assisting our customers and offering the usual level of Customer Care. As standard we do not provide toiletries in any of our hotels although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge in August and whilst it was not the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we are not aching to return, I would say we were very pleased with what we got for our money. Travelodge is what it claims to be just somewhere to bed down for the night in relative comfort and then scarper after breakfast. It had just had a remodel and was very clean and tidy, fresh lick of paint and clean carpets. Our room was the biggest we have ever had in a travelodge and our daughter actually had a proper bed not the usual bed settee. The staff on reception were very friendly, helpful and professional. Our only criticism would be that the bar area was not particularly well looked after, plates from I would imagine lunchtime were still on the tables at five o'clock when we sat down for a drink before going out for a meal. There were three staff members on duty and all of them walked past the three dirty tables on numerous occasions whilst were there without attempting to clear them.
Overall though we were pleased with the hotel and would return without hesitation. The location is brilliant if you are wanting to explore Bath and we did that on the day we arrived and then onto Longleat the following day. Perfect!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bath Waterside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.