We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Failure” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jolly's
Milsom St., Bath, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 48 Shopping in Bath
Type: Department Stores, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“House of Failure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is meant to a a prime retail establishment right in the centre of Bath. However what could be a fantastic store to mirror the likes of Harvey Nichols, Selfridges or even indeed Harrods is simply not. The whole store is in desperate need of a major refurbishment. The majority if floor space is taken over by clothing footwear and make up with a disappointing Home department on the first floor. The majority of brands are of marginal quality and most of the staff are kids with little enthusiasm or knowledge of retail. It's a shame because underneath all the thread bare carpets and tape holding them together is a truly beautiful old store that could be made great once again. Oh almost forgot two cafés. Well I won't even start on those. !

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    3
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surprisingly terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

26/10/13. We chose Jolly's to eat lunch as all other eateries were busy. Surprised to find cafe quiet!! I chose ham egg chips, my daughter chose burger bacon and cheese in bun.and two coffees. Table was sticky which you wouldn't be surprised at if staff were rushed of their feet. As soon as my daughter looked at her meal she saw a hair poking out of burger. As the plates were stone cold the chips were warm and the fried egg was luke warm and not quite cooked. Hence we left still hungry and £22.00 worse off. We wont be going back there again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food For Thought”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Saturday 21st September was a typically busy day in Bath, we called into Jolly's for a light lunch around 1.00pm. Although other eateries we passed were crowded we had no problem getting served quickly. That was the only plus, we both ordered a hot sandwich containing Asian Style Pork with Hoisin Sauce, shared one portion of chips and two coffees, total cost was £17.90.
The coffee was acceptable but the sandwiches when opened contained what appeared to be a few pre-diced slivers of pork approximimatly 20mmx20mm, some bean sprouts and sauce.
We pushed it around the plate, consumed the coffee and left £17.90 lighter.
As this is the only time we have visited this restaurant it is difficult to say if this is the normal standard but by the low level of patrons I assume this is the case. The standard we expected was that found in M & S and John Lewis stores, I cannot see the point of Jolly's continuing to offer a dining experience of this quality it can only reflect badly on the store.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out of date, and dirty old carpets.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

No competition to any other shops in Bath, there are much better looking shops that are easier to shop, brighter and cleaner than House of Fraser. Would be very hard to shop if you had a pram or wheelchair.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad service by Jollys, Bath and House Of Fraser Generally”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Please be aware that if you buy a gift for someone and forget to ask for a gift receipt, then Jollys do not even let you exchange the item even for a different size or colour. It happened to me. I tried to complain but even if you complain to House of Fraser main office, it gets handles by the local store, Jollys in this case. Where did customer service go????

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly's also viewed

 

Been to Jolly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.