We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkins of Bath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawkins of Bath
Save
You added Hawkins of Bath to your Saves list
88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel with fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Hawkins. The place is tastefully decorated and has been lovingly restored my Glyn and Diane, who from the moment you enter their beautiful home make you feel welcome and very much a home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple, they recommended several places to see and visit whilst in Bath. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience a relaxing time in Bath. Well done Glyn and Diane you deserve all the praise you are given

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as clean and spacious particularly the family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
229
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Many very positive comments have been already made about hosts and breakfast. No need to repeat again. We would like to draw attention to the spacious rooms where you can move around with two people not bumping into each other like in many other B&B claimimg to have big rooms. And no animal smell - promised but not delivered so frequently. The well and tastefully renovated house with well functioning bathrooms make you want to stay longer rather than leave. It was so good we returned for another 6 night stay and enjoyed exploring the region from this wonderful base. Many thanks Diane and Glyn!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

There are many reasons why one would choose to stay in a B&B over hotel. For us, we wanted to experience the personal touch, staying in someone's home as well as interacting with someone local. We couldn't have made a better choice. As it is our 2nd visit to bath in two years, we have to say it is the best stay ever. We couldn't have asked for more when we first made our booking online. It was already with personal touch to start off with as Glyn was very accommodating on our initial booking request. Then when we had to check in later than the agreed time while we were in UK, we wrote to Diane who then called us on our mobile to say she would wait up for us! And when we met her, she really felt like an old friend and was very warm and hospitable. She made our two girls and us felt at home immediately. The room was big and immaculate. Diane was able to tell us where the locals head out for their meals and where she would go herself. We went with her recommendation as it was already late in the evening and we were not disappointed.

The bed was super comfy and our girls slept really well compared to our other B&B prior to Bath. To top it off, she made my elder daughter an omelette upon her request for breakfast the next day. While Diane said it was not her specialty, she accommodated cheerfully anyway. My daughter said it was the best omelette ever. Our family felt there was a lot of warmness and soul in the place and we believe it is because Diane and Glyn run the B&B not just as a business, but they are truly passionate about providing great service and giving travelers a home away from home feel. We will be back! Thanks for the wonderful time Diane!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Cant praise Hawkins of Bath enough,great period house tastefully decorated,large rooms with high ceilings,spotlessly clean,tasty breakfast,& Diane& Glyn were the host/hostess's with the mostess's, very friendly with plenty of local knowledge on restaurants and things to do, basically it " does what it says on the tin" !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I'm not sure that there are more pleasant B&B hosts than Glyn and Diane. They went well beyond traditional B&B service to make our stay extra special. From providing us with all sorts of literature and information of the area, to special breakfasts, treats for the kids for our day long tour and driving us into town several times so we wouldn't have to hire a cab. The accommodations were spotless and wonderfully comfortable. My children said it was the best breakfast they'd ever had. I highly recommend staying here should you ever travel to Bath or anywhere nearby.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hawkins of Bath came highly recommended from a friend. From the moment we arrived Diane and Glyn were the consumate hosts, making us feel at home and being so helpful about what to do in and around Bath. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were amazing (we were in the Lansdown, our friends in the Bathwick). Spotless, Plenty of room, Comfy beds, fresh linen and a great bathroom with roll-topped bath. Breakfast was good, the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on muffin was a treat., and I liked the idea of fresh milk and water available for residents from the fridge. I'm not a fan of UHT! I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, and if you are a Hobbit fan there's a little feature in the garden which may be of interest!

One word...Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is not the first time I have stayed at Hawkins of Bath and it will not be the last! Everytime I stay at Hawkins of Bath it is a wonderful trip and the hosts, Glyn and Diane, are always so kind and welcoming. The rooms are beautiful, well decorated and very spacious and both the continental and cooked breakfast is delicious. If you're looking for the perfect hotel - this is it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkins of Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.