We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Bath
plymouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very easy to find, easy reach to everything in Bath, service great, staff helpful and very friendly. Whilst staying at hotel had roast dinner very nice on the Sunday and also 3 course evening meal as well, as breakfast in the morning. We booked in advance a parking space which is at the side of the hotel, which is very reasonable rate for the day.

Rooms are good size, clean and have kettle, teas and coffee, no mini bar though, but there is a bar down stair which is nice.

I would recommend staying at this hotel, which is easy for sightseeing in Bath, went to the Thermal Bath Spa, excellent you will have to queue if its a weekend, due to high popularity.

We went to Sally Lunn, slight wait but not that long, food was nice, slightly expensive, service very slow I think it was due to only one waitress working on that floor.

I would go back to Bath again and stay at this hotel again, very nice for a couple days away...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    204
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
87
350
53
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Bath for two nights as a Birthday treat. Staff were all very helpful, polite and attentive. Very centrally located for the station, shopping and the tourist spots. Had a superior room and it was really nice and comfortable - shower was massive!! Value for Bath was fair, as the place as a whole is expensive. Parking is at a premium in Bath, so would recommend the underground car park underneath Debenhams, which is directly opposite.Would definitely stay again and would also recommend to anyone thinking about staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Royal Hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a great position, as it's in the centre of Bath. We also booked in advance a parking place which was a definite plus as parking is very limited within the city centre. We stayed at the hotel on a deal that included dinner. The restaurant staff were absolutely lovely and we really enjoyed our meal. Apparently, the hotel is well known for their steaks. We did choose a steak for our main, which we would definitely recommend. We would love to go back to Bath for a longer stay and would book this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked two rooms for our family of four and really felt it was a home from home. The reception staff were lovely and so welcoming. Everyone we met had a warm smile. The waiters were very patient with our indecisiveness at dinner but still managed to be really efficient and not keep us waiting when we were ready. They have the best steak ever! The towels were super soft and fluffy - we complemented the house keeper. The road noise was a little annoying but the hotel is across the road from the train station and a short walk from the centre of town - has to be expected. We took the dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the were really impressed. The rooms we were had were just a tad shaby chic but with lots of room to move and the beds were really comfy. The food was top quality. We were impressed to get freshly cooked breakfast to order - we had kippers, eggs benedict and scrambled egg with salmon (respectively). Never had that before within this budget range! It was like eating at Loch Fyne - a firm favourite with our family. Altogether a great stay and we finally made our trip to the Roman Baths which was as awesome for my children as I remembered it being as a child. Again - it was just a short walk from the hotel. Thanks The Royal Hotel!

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would be quieter at night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had two nights here in February this year. the deal was for Bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night. The hotel is directly across the road from the railway station (we travelled by train) and about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Bath. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags before checking in.Our room was very clean and comfortable and well furnished, Dinner was delicous with a very good choice. Breakfast was also good, with plenty of choice, and the marmalade and butter were in dishes, not those horrible little plastic pots that so many hotels seem to use! All the staff were helpful and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good hotel, Came here for a birthday treat and stayed two nights. Room lovely, bed very comfortable. Staff welcoming and friendly. Food good. Brilliant location. Just across the road from the railway station and the tour bus stops almost outside and all of the main attractions in Bath are a short walk away. Would highly recommend staying here and wll definately come back to stay next time we visit Bath.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited bath recently for a break away , I found this hotel online and booked , it was fantastic , great location within walking distance of everything you could want to see in bath. We stayed two night and dinner was included on first night restaurant offered a great selection and the meal was delicious. The hotel has limited parking and has to be pre booked - we were able to use of first night but move car for second night, not that this was a problem as reception were great telling us where nearest parking was.

The room was larger than expected and clean, it even had proper coffee in rooms not just instant ! All staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We loved bath and will defiantly be returning and this hotel will be top of our list ! - Thanks

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.