We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“with reservation - soundproofing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“with reservation - soundproofing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Royal Hotel for one night. Hotel is situated directly across the road from the train station. Car Parking is about 500mtrs behind the hotel next to Police Station, above and below ground, it is pay and display, machines do accept credit and debit cards, approx £12 for 24hours the hours overnight are non chargeable and therefore credited to the next day. Easy walking distance to shopping areas and all tourist attractions.
Room 209 - Cosy in size, as I was single occupant it was OK but two people would have trouble moving around. Room was clean and bed comfortable, however the room could do with modernising, new kettle, Nespresso coffee machine, simple things such as updating the hotel directory and this room favoured Blankets instead of quilt not to my taste. The iron you need to get from reception. The bathroom has a shower only. This room is right on the intersection and was not satisfactorily insulated to block out the noise from outside traffic or late night revellers returning from train station. There appears to be secondary double glazed window however this has been blocked from closing all the way down, hence does not block out the noise, so not a pleasant nights sleep was had, and at a price of £89pnight I found this to be not acceptable.
Positive - The Restaurant - Food both for Breakfast and Dinner was excellent as was the service and reasonably priced. Beware though, for those with big appetites the rolled Plaice (main course) was very small, starter size portion the accompanying side dish of new potatoes was larger in portion size.
Staff, as per other reviews friendly and efficient, however I was disappointed, when having given feedback on the noise I was told next time ask for a room at the back of the Hotel, shouldn’t all rooms be assured to give a peaceful nights sleep isn’t this the point of a hotel?
I do hope management fix the soundproofing for all rooms affected but in the meantime it may pay to ask for a Room at the Back and maybe a much reduced rate be offered for those noisy rooms!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 209 unless soundproofing has been fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments.
The Royal Hotel has limited car parking which can be prebooked at a cost of £8.20 per day.
There are two public car parks on our doorstep. Unfortunately all city centre hotels suffer from some traffic noise however good the secondary glazing is.
The receptionist on duty when you were checking out was trying to be heplful in suggesting
that next time you visit we would recommend a room at the back of the hotel.
All of our bedrooms vary in size and this is how the famous Mr Brunel designed the building.
All rooms have ironing boards, but for safety we request that the guest calls to reception
and we will have an iron delivered to their bedroom.
We are the only hotel in Bath that offers a choice of instant and ground coffee in their bedroom.
The fillet of plaice filled with a tiger prawn and red pepper mousse you selected for your
evening meal is one of our most popular dishes on the menu and is delivered to the hotel fresh daily. Our blankets supplied are made from 100% merino wool and I do accept that a quilt
can be a preference for some guests.
I am delighted you found the staff friendly and helpful and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    178
    79
    35
    23
See reviews for
80
303
48
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Royal for 2 nights in January (25th-27th). The first thing that we noticed was how friendly the young lady was on the reception. We felt this gave a very good first impression of the hotel. We found all staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The staff here actually look like they really enjoy their jobs. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast to a high standard. We would definitiely recommend and stay again. In a very central location in Bath.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited this hotel with our friends and found the staff and service to be excellent.
The restaurant food had a good choice of menu and the breakfast was also very varied and of a high standard.
The staff were very helpful without exception and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting good value combined with excellent service.

Room Tip: Suggest picking a room at the side or back away from the main street and station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lovely old building Excellent location right by the station & town centre. Rooms very clean fresh sheets every night. Facilities in the room are great too. all staff very polite & helpful , Dinner & breakfast was inclued in the price of the stay, food was lovely. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Just had a two night stay here and cannot praise it enough great position great staff all very friendly and helpfull and food was fantastic we had breakfast on two days and a lovely meal on the last evening.the room was clean and comfortable clean towels and bed lininen on both days tv/ dvd and good coffee and tea facilitys which were restocked allso.we booked a parking space before we arrived and walked around the lovely clean city for the days we were here great hotel and will defiantly come again maybe by train next time !

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had to abandon my car in a small snow fall in Bath and find a warm bed for the night. As I was travelling by train the next morning the close proximity of the Royal Hotel to the railway station (and the city centre made it an obvious choice)
I was made very welcome at reception by Mike who got the mix of professionalism and friendliness spot on. The room I had 308 had a large kingsize bed and a good, but small ensuite shower room but it was the little things which made the stay so much nicer than many hotels I have stayed in at three times the price. I particularly liked having a towelling bath robe and slippers, and a large jar of freshly ground coffee with a cafetiere pot, and the mints were a nice touch.
I arrived too late and left too early to sample the food.
It was a pleasure to stay here and at £89 (b&b) was excellent value for money

Room Tip: 308 at the front but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent value and really helpful,pleasant staff. Perfectly situated opposite station and easy short walk to centre. We were on a break which included a trip to the thermal spa. The hotel provided us with towels and slippers to save hiring at the spa. They even stored our bags after we checked out so that we could enjoy our last day without taking our luggage around with us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.