We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stay here every year when I visit the christmas markets and meet up with my mum and dad.
I had a lovely single room which was just right. It had a comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom.
The food is always very good and the staff are extremely helpful and cheerful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    178
    79
    35
    23
See reviews for
80
303
48
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel was perfectly placed for a weeekend away on the train and to walk around Bath. The staff could not have been friendlier and warmer a great advert for the city of Bath !. Room quiet and cosy at the back - loved the cafetiere to enable you to make own fresh coffee .Beds comfortable and only noise was pigeons and odd seagull! Food in restaurant was consistently good had dinner twice as part of the package and when my steak was over cooked I pointed it out and a gorgeous tender replacemnet came out within five mins or so .my sister enjoyed the puddings too ! Afternoon tea with a glass of champagne was a lovely start to the weekend - what was not to like !

Room Tip: rooms at the front larger and looked lovely but soem people say were noisy the rooms at the back wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't have many requirements from a hotel room, only that it needs to be clean, have a nice comfortable bed to sleep and a hot shower. The Royal Hotel provided that and so much more during my long weekend in Bath visiting the Christmas market (which i would also recommend).
Location was perfect for me as it was right next to the station and was within 5 mins walk of the main shopping district. The room itself was very comfortable and warm with lots of lovely extras like the tea tray complete with cafetiere and ground coffee and the complimenary bottled water. There was a wide choice of breakfast food available to order each morning, all cooked fresh, very tasty and set me up for the day ahead.
But for me, what really made my stay just that little bit more amazing was the impeccable service and friendliness of the hotel staff, in particular Emily, the lovely receptionist who always greeted me with a smile and asked how my day was, not to mention being extremely helpful with my requests. She even offered to keep my luggage (and huge amounts of shopping!) in storage after i checked out so that i could kill a few hours in town before catching my train home. My weekend break was made all the more relaxing and enjoyable thanks to people like her, and i shall certainly be back to stay again!

Room Tip: Definitely try and ask for a room facing the back if you want a more quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights in this very well located hotel close to the main line railway station in Bath and the new Southgate Shopping Centre in Bath which is very impressive. We received very good and friendly service both before our stay and during it from all the staff including the Receptionist who could not have done more to help and advise us. This 3 star hotel in Bath is a little gem and we shall certainly consider staying there again. Mr & Mrs P from Sherborne in Dorset UK

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, north west london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding Anniversary and stayed at Royal Hotel in Bath. The service was brilliant and our room was just perfect. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the sights and Christmas market in Bath. It's position is great, just across the road from the train station. We ate in the bar as well as the restaurant both times were excellent. The breakfast gives you a variey of cooked breakfasts as well as cereals ect. I was surprised the hotel only has 3 stars it deserves 4 stars. I looked at reviews before I booked this hotel and all were excellent. They aren't made up try this hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a great weekend with friends had a wonderful stay! room & staff were lovely especially Emily on reception who was always more than happy to help. Would definitely return thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights had a lovely time ,great food plenty to eat
Great hotel for getting around bath sight seeing.
Room very nice and clean.
Staff friendly and helpful
After spa afternoon came back to hotel for champagne and cream tea all in the package

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.