We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Cymru
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very warm welcome from all staff, as stated by earlier reviewers there can be some outside noise at night if the room overlooks the station, Bath is very expensive for hotels and the Royal was very competitive for a spa break , slippers ,towels and shampoo provided for our spa visit, (5 minute walk) Unfortunately had a very tough sirloin steak for dinner, i only realised how tough when I tried the wife's gorgeously tender rump steak . ah well ,it's a medium rare rump next time.
Good local real ale £3.70 a pint. TV in bar but no Sky.
Excellent location,close to all shops etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your excellent comments regarding The Royal Hotel and I am very
pleased you enjoyed your stay. With respect to your sirloin steak, we very much appreciate
this feed back and I only wish you had mentioned this at the time as we would gladly have replaced
it immediately. We have a simple policy of no questions asked, simply replaced. I was also very
pleased to read how tender your wife's rump steak was, clearly the sirloin steak should have been
equally as tender. We use all of ur steaks from a local butcher, which is 28 day aged and reared on their own farm. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    204
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
87
350
53
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is obviously an old listed building but has been kept in good working order. The rooms are fairly spacious, but almost everywhere you go on any of the upper floors has very noisy floorboards. The en-suite in my room is small, but modernised with a good shower but no bath and plenty of water pressure in the shower and very clean. The decor in the room is a bit old-fashioned, but that's not exactly a major problem. My room has two single beds. Next-door is a double made by pushing two singles together but the beds are very saggy which ends up with a ridge down the middle of the bed.

Breakfast was very good. Full range of cooked and cold breakfasts and good attentive staff. Food was of good quality but not amazing.

It is directly outside the train station, so very handy if you travel by train. There is VERY limited parking which you need to arrange in advance, so we had to park down the road at £10 per day.

It is on a junction of major roads and the double glazing isn't that great so there is a lot of road noise, both at 11pm and at 6am due to a high volume of traffic and busses, so if you are a light sleeper either request a room at the back or pick another hotel.

No pool/gym etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the Royal Hotel, our staff and breakfast.
With respect to the room described as 2 single beds pushed together. I can confirm that these
are zip and link beds providing a large double bed with a king size mattress cover. When zipped
together properly they will create a complete bed without a ridge down the middle.
On this occasion the 2 beds had not been zipped together properly and I must apologise for this
and I am sorry if it caused an uncomfortable night's sleep.

Kind regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Only last night I had the opportunity to sample the new Menu at the Brasserie Brunel. The food was out of this world-a fantastic choice to suit all. The Duck and Venison pate starter was my personal favourite closely followed by the fillet of plaice filled with a tiger prawn and red pepper mouse. The food was served on piping hot plates where appropriate (always a plus I feel) and the general ambience of this friendly Hotel restaurant was superb. The Restaurant Manager Ali was very attentive at all times and I would not hesitate to recommend this eating place to all visitors to Bath. The Royal Hotel itself is certainly fit for a Queen! Congratulations to the Chef and his kitchen team for providing delicious food within a sensible price range-I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this hotel for a girls spa weekend and it was just what we wanted. Bath is generally expensive and this was good value overall.

On booking the staff were friendly and helpful and they were the same throughout our stay, especially when one of our group needed medical attention.

The rooms are in keeping with the style of the hotel, not modern minimalism but not over fussy olde world.

My only critisism, and i am a bit OCD, would be the bathroom. the corners, behind the door and the painted window sill could benefit from a deep clean and the area above the shower a quick lick of paint, but other than that no complaints at all.

I would definitely stay again and recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent service the warmest welcome we have ever had from any hotel how ever many stars.
Room very comfortable breakfast very good with good choices. bar food and restaurant meals excellent and this from an ex chef.
Well done will see you again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Royal is opposite the railway station and only minutes walk away from all the sightseeing attractions you go to Bath to see. The food is also very well presented and reasonably priced. At breakfast it is the only hotel I know that uses loose tea served in a teapot with a tea strainer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It is not the Ritz, but you get what you need in some comfort at a good price. Eat in if you have the diner deal, but if you are only eating one night in Bath try something more exciting. - Anywhere. Brunels Brasserie is a bit of a disappointmnt in the evening, but the breakfast is great.

Room Tip: We were at the back so it was a bit quiter, but it is so central to everything. Shops. buses,trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.