We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Magdala

Save Saved
You added Villa Magdala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Magdala
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Warwickshire UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Rooms very comfortable. Location just a five minute walk to the centre yet in a quiet residential area. Service first rate. Friendly welcome. Excellent breakfasts. Ours with a complimentary bucks fizz and a banana smoothie.Any downsides? Well, our bathroom was very small, but couldn't fault
the power shower. We'd certainly go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review - Bucks fizz is a nice treat at breakfast and just perfect for that indulgent night away!

We do say that our bathrooms are 'Bijoux' in our 'Good' rooms but we have tried to compensate for their size with quality fixtures and fittings - including powerful showers and heated well lit mirrors.

I hope you will stay with us again next time you decide to come to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    57
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
80
387
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A nice friendly welcome. Good location. Lovely breakfast. Great service.

That's the positives .... Now the negatives ...

1. Car park is very cramped - possibly trying to squeeze too many spaces in. Understandable but I can see why another reviewer may have been driven into because it is very cramped and hard to move about in.

2. Another guest complained about the orange light in the room all night. The management said this was due to a timer fault from a power cut. Must be a lot of power cuts because I had exactly the same issue on Wednesday 30th night when I stayed - but no evidence of any power cut. It did ruin my sleep so this is quite a negative factor. It was not orange when I went to bed but came on during the night.

3. The bathroom is small. I think I was in a high-end room (#24 i think was the number) but still the bathroom was disappointing.

I would stay again but I'd have to ask for a room that wouldn't be lit up in bright orange all night. I recommend you do away with the orange floodlights.

Room Tip: Avoid orange lit rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for the positives! Now for our response to the negatives..................

We are situated in the heart of a UNESCO world heritage city, a georgian city designed and built when cars were not around. Parking spaces on the road, and parking prices, are at an absolute premium so we are very fortunate in being able to offer our guests the facility of a car-park right outside the front door. If you can park between two white lines and drive your car in reverse, then there is no problem - as 99% of our guests find. And if guests book directly with us, then it's free! If guests really have a problem, then we can offer a permit for the street outside- also free for guests who book directly! What more can we offer? Over the whole of the summer, when we have been fully booked, we have had one minor scratch on one car - a better record than most public car parks.

At the time you stayed we had an electrical fault which affected our flood lights. It was repaired that day but we then discovered that the fault was due to a faulty time-clock - again replaced that same day. I'm sorry that it disturbed you but this an unusual event and normally the lights go off at 9.30 ish. Why do we use flood-lights at all ? So that guests arriving late, now that the evenings are dark can easily locate us as they drive along the road. It is certainly not an on-going problem, so if you stay again, I'm sure you won't find the same issues.

I'm surprised you found the bathroom small - most guests find the bathrooms in our Best rooms very well appointed.

We do feel disappointed that you didn't raise any of these points with us during your stay when we could have had a face-to-face conversation about all of the issues you mention - and we could have assured you that the car-park is perfectly safe,and the floodlights have been repaired. That would have been far more satisfactory I'm sure, than correspondence via Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I know Bath well and have visited many times. I booked this B&B based on its exceptional location, renovated decor and on-site parking. Bath is full of hotels and B&Bs, but not many are within 5 minutes level walking of the main sights and come complete with off-street parking, but the Villa Magdala does.

The Villa Magdala is beautifully decorated. It looks just like the photographs on the website. It was spotlessly clean. I booked a 'better' room, but think I was put into a 'best' room because it was very large and overlooked the park. The bathroom contained a bath with shower over. It was smart, looked new and was a pleasure to soak in. The tea/coffee facilities were well thought out complete with little biscuits and fresh milk (from dining room or reception). The bed was big and comfortable. The bed linen was good quality. Basically, a faultless sleeping space.

Someone in an earlier review mentioned the numerous stairs and needing help with luggage. There are indeed 3 floors of stairs. However, my suitcase and boot box disappeared up to my room as if by magic whilst being signed in. A little later I saw 2 young reception women, together, carrying a huge suitcase upstairs for someone.

Breakfast was a treat. There was a good cold selection including fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, little pastries etc. This was followed with a very extensive cooked offering; eggs, bacon and the 'full English', kippers, fancy cooked eggs, porridge etc. Everything was beautifully presented and very well cooked. It couldn't be faulted.

Every member of staff we met was charming, helpful and friendly. They were all clearly working very hard because the place was full and buzzing with guests.

This really is a very comfortable place to stay. Everything is of a good quality and the details have been carefully thought through. I would definitely stay again.

One final thing, which car drives might need to know, is that parking is strict/restricted. Upon arrival other guests were leaving so we were able to park and spend the day in town. On the day of check-out we had to vacate the car-park by 12 noon to allow the next set of guests to park. This is understandable as the car park is small, but we had thought we could just leave the car all day. So we had an unsettled half-hour wondering what to do with the car for the day. As it happens there was public parking at Charlotte Street of £6.40 for 6 hours. It is just better to know in advance than find out later, like we did. I don't wish to put anybody off staying. Perhaps, in the future, management could extend the car parking into the lawn?

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for all your kind comments - it took us a long time to find the right biscuits for the tea tray (lots of taste testing) but we eventually settled on Marshfield which we think are wonderful too.

You did have a free upgrade and we try to do this when we have bigger room available so guests get that bit extra from their stay.

We do always try and help with luggage where possible.

Having a car park is a big positive in Bath as you say but we are quite strict with parking times as we have to acommodate our guests arriving also and we do have limited parking. Unfortunatly as we are in a conservation area we are unable to take up the grass and extend the parking - as this would be ideal.

I am glad you managed to find suitable parking for the day though. I do hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a fabulous stay we had here. I can't thank the lovely Jasmine enough for her warm welcome and making sure our stay was comfortable. We were a bit late checking in but were given a nice hot tea and cookies when we arrived. Our room was very nice it was small but well appointed. The bed was very comfortable especially after a long day of trekking around. Our windows overlooked the back garden and views of the lovely hilly Bath. The morning breakfast was delicious and the room where breakfast is served was very nice, we even sat there one evening planning the next leg of our trip. I thought it was the nicest place that we stayed while in England. The location is fabulous for on foot touring of the city and we found it a handy place to go to Glastonbury and Avesbury. The restaurants in town are great and we really enjoyed the friendly people. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a good room we faced the back of the hotel, however this is a quiet street and there is a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review - Jasmine is one of our new members of staff and will be thrilled when I tell her of your kind comments.

I am so glad you enjoyed staying with us in our beautiful Victorian building, the dining room is a beautiful light airy restful room and as you say guests are welcome to use it all day at their leisure.

Tell your friends and family about us - and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the 'best rooms' for 2 nights on 20/21st Oct 2013 and have to say we were really impressed. We were extremely happy with our large room which was worth every penny. The style was contemporary with a HUGE comfy bed and plasma TV. Everything crisp and clean as was the bathroom. Perhaps a small fridge in the room would have been nice, but otherwise you couldn't fault it.
The breakfasts were fantastic with one of the best choices I've seen and the full English was perfect - I just wished they had served food at night too because had it been as good as the breakfast you would NEVER have wanted to venture into town to eat!
This boutique B&B is located in a tranquil road opposite a lovely park and is a genuine 5 minute walk before you hit the shops and restaurants. They even provide you with a brolly if it's raining which was a nice touch. Free parking was great (few places as close to the centre offer this) although I believe you only get this benefit if you book directly with them, and not thru one of the online booking agencies.
From the moment we arrived the owner and staff were so friendly and helpful and throughout our stay. The team all seemed genuinely happy and hospitable people who cared about their guests and really are a credit to the owners.
To summarize, it's worth paying that little bit extra if you like your hotel close to where all the action is in the centre of Bath, and you want somewhere that oozes calm, class and character, that feels like an up-market 5 star place with the service to match, then do not miss this little gem. I cannot recommend it highly enough and will definitely be booking here next time we visit Bath!

Room Tip: Room 24 on the ground floor was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
What a lovely review - thank you for taking time out to write your thoughts down.

It has taken us a while to get the perfect team together but they are all amazing and we are very lucky to have them all - it is very much a reflection of the Owners.

We always think it's the small things that count just as much as the big things so the umbrellas for guests to borrow, fresh milk in your room for tea and coffee, tea and cake when you arrive, and a warm welcome from a member of staff after a long journey all add up to make a relaxing stay with that something a bit special - well we think so anyway!

Look forward to seeing you again for your next twip to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

No lifts, three flights of stairs, no help with luggage, uncomfortable lumpy beds. All the staff were lovely except for the rude owner complaining when we asked for help with luggage. The service at breakfast was excellent and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Oh dear! You obviously had not reserarched where you were staying - we, along with most other period hotels in Bath, do not have a lift. Nor did you tell us until you arrived that you had a problem with stairs - although ours are wide and shallow with large landings to take a break if necessary. As we were fully booked - and most other guests had already arrived - we were unable to change your room for you. Why did you not communicate this to us?

I have spoken to the staff on duty when you arrived - and they tell me that between them they carried all your luggage to your room despite the fact that it was so heavy it took both of them to lift each piece. Again , we are always happy to assist but we are a small Boutique Band B hotel - we do not have a full porterage service so if you arrive with huge heavy pieces, we do say on our web-site that you may have to be patient in having your luggage delivered. When you came to leave you requested assistance - as it was in the middle of a very busy breakfast service, we asked if you could be patient for a few minutes so that the two male members of the team on duty could lift it all down for you. At the time, one was cooking breakfast and the other was serving! You did not wish to wait so once again, two of our slightly built female members of staff lifted it all down stairs for you and put it in the boot of your car. At no point did any member of our team refuse to help - we just requested that you wait for a few minutes.

Throughout your stay, you did not mention that you found the beds uncomfortable - only when you departed when we unable to do anything to put the matter right such as offer an additional mattress topper. For the benefit of other guests, all our beds were replaced very recently and are Hypnos - the vey best contract beds you can buy - and 99% of our guests find them very comfortable.

We welcome guests of all ages - from a new-born through to many older guests celebrating birthdays etc - and if they have specific requirements, most let us know in advance. The best advice we can offer is to research where you have booked, rather than use faceless booking agencies, especially as you have so many age-related requirements and are unwilling to compromise on any of these needs. Communication is the key to allowing us to make sure we can deliver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Villa Magdala for 3 days in Bath. Its a B&B with lots of charm, great huge room that was bigger than my apartment at home. One of the best stays for us in England. The beds were comfortable and very homey. The bathroom was very clean with a heated floor and towel racks which were great touches. The service was wonderful, from great breakfasts in the morning to the little touches like the umbrellas that were available for guests to use during their stay (with little sling carrying cases to carry on your back), quality baked treats left in the rooms daily and toiletries. Loved staying there and it was in great proximity to the centre of town (easy walking distance). Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review - my housekeeping girls will be thrilled to hear your kind comments about their cleaning. The heated floor in room 23 is wonderful - it's my favourite too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Magdala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Magdala

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Magdala 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa Magdala is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 20 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique B and B experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, all king or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Magdala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Magdala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.