We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night was just not enough! Pure Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Magdala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Magdala to your Saves list
Villa Magdala
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast & Parking
Ranked #17 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“One Night was just not enough! Pure Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

As a birthday treat my Wife took me to Bath. Arriving at Villa Magdala we selected our parking spot a little early of the 2pm check in time; "Just checking in?" a gentleman asked as I got out of the car. It turned out this was John the owner who whisked away our luggage, offered us tea or coffee and cake! What a welcome. Soon seated in the bright breakfast room we were given all manner of details about Bath, where to eat, how to see the sights etc. The excitement was building - what would our room be like? Wow!!! A superb modern room with all the amenities you could imagine, most of all a lovely big comfortable bed. Room 6, overlooking the park. Location could not be better, just a short walk into town and all the wonderful sights of Bath. After all the rain in the UK, I was now on an open top bus in the sunshine on my birthday. In the evening we dined at Jamie Oliver's, came back to that superb bed and then had a fantastic choice of breakfast, even Buck’s Fizz if we wanted. John is a "Nigel Haveresk" character who ensures your food is perfect and your needs are well catered for as he enquires how you enjoyed the previous evening or what you have planned for the day. The staff are so polite and even Billy the dog knows his place. One night was not enough, we just wanted to stay on. The £12 parking charge is well worth it as you can leave your car until midday without incurring the charges in the car parks of Bath

Room Tip: The rooms are graded on most websites, we chose the Best - well worth it. We would book direct with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
What a great review. John loved being compared to Nigel Havers - until we told him that Nigel is now in Corrie and now he's not so sure!

Just a note that if guests book directly with us, then parking and breakfast are included in the room rate so better value really. And guests are welcome to leave their car in the car-park for much of the next day so it avoids the extortionate parking charges in Bath.

Such lovely comments - thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    87
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
110
573
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for only one night (should have extended one more night, but as predicted..it already fully booked) with my family. Amanda and John (the owners) welcomed us very warmly and offered us tea and coffee in there lovely and cozy restaurant. The room was amazing! Clean, spacy, flat tv, sofa, big bed and just exactly like on the pictures. They also provide me baby travel box for my baby to sleep.
It located in front of a park, near to the roman bath, sally lunn, and the cityseeing bus stop.
Great value for money. Not to mention their managers are very welcome to answer so many questions via mail before we arrived.
Love to stay there again definitely!
Dont forget to book it few weeks before you intend to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
So pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. Just for the record it was a travel cot we provided for this lovely baby! Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here on my own when meeting up with friends for a night out. On arrival, I received a very warm welcome from the owners and offered tea & cake and given a local map and overview of the area. The decor is beautful throughout and my room was very comfortable and had everything I needed. Breakfast in the morning was delicious-the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had and excellent service from the waiting staff who were very pleasnat and friendly. The hotel is perfectly situated for a short stroll into town and far enough away from the noise of the nightlife. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay and definitely value for money. I would not think twice about booking here again if ever visiting Bath in the future. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel - and the staff! It's always lovely when their efforts are appreciated. We think they are a great team too. Good of you to take the time to write this review - thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A fantastic base for sight seeing in Bath. We arrived early, parked up and then headed into town. On return we enjoyed a cuppa and a slice of cake whilst we checked in. The room was very good, right down to the little tasty flapjacks. Everyone was very polite and friendly, and we even met Billy the dog.
Breakfast was epic. Kippers were fantastic, about the size of Moby Dick!! Joe's granola glass was exceptionally delicious. I wish all establishments could serve breakfasts like that.
We will definitely be back to enjoy the hospitality of the Villa and to explore more of the delights of Bath.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed breakfast - we are really proud to have just won a Breakfast Award from Visit England - must be the kippers that swung it for us! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel underwent a magnificent refurbishment at the beginning of 2012. Looking at the photos on here it is impossible to tell that it is the same hotel! It is an extremely stylish, comfortable hotel with staff who will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They will book restaurants and taxis in an instant. Advice on things to do and see and the best timings is always forthcoming.
The beds are incredibly comfortable - it's only the thought of missing the delicious breakfast, including Bucks Fizz, that persuaded me to leave it!
The owners and their dog Billy are always on hand to help out too, but no one is obtrusive.
The location is very quiet and convenient, just opposite Henrietta Park.
There are no negative comments to make about the Villa Magdala - give it a try, you'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for this review- and for advising guests to look at the recent reviews and photographs. The hotel is so different since the major refurbishment - and most guests love the new look.

Billy appreciated his photo - he's only on hand in the afternoons as he sleeps the rest of the day away!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week and loved it,beds very comfy,breakfast very nice, rooms were spacious and decorated amazing thorough the hotel, will be returning,thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
A lovely short and to the point review - thank you very much for taking the time to write it . We really appreciate it - nearly all of our guests have checked us out on Trip Advisor so up-to-date reviews are really important. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have just returned from a truly lovely 2 night stay at the Villa Magdala, from the minute we arrived, quite literally to the minute we left, everything was just perfect. A lovely cheery lady greeted us with a smile, despite it being manic with arrivals, we explained we were happy to head straight into town and to check in later and so she handed us a map, gave a great explanation of where to go (which is just a lovely 5 minute walk from the city centre) and waved us on our way. Our check in later that afternoon was painless, relaxed and accompanied by complimentary tea and cake, our room was lovely, over looking the very quaint garden and we didn't want for anything. Breakfast truly was the best, a huge choice, fresh and hot and the pain au chocolat were the best I have ever eaten, and not forgetting the bucks fizz. For us, what made Villa Magdala so special was the 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude and the little touches, for example fresh milk for your tea in your room, we requested a fan for our room at breakfast on the first morning, and by the time we had got back to our room 20 minutes later, there was the fan all ready to go. We really can not thank you all enough for making our break with you so special, it was a break to remeber for more reasons than one as I was surprised with a marriage proposal whilst we were there, we will truly remember our time in Bath with a big smile. Hoping to return to you one day, maybe for a post wedding break next year!! Thankyou so much.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are the quietest in the house, although next time we might be tempted to upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
A marriage proposal - we're such a bunch of romantics that this really made our week! Many many congratulations - sorry if we went a bit over the top but we were just so thrilled for you both!
Please please come back post wedding - with some photos to show us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Magdala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Magdala

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Magdala 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa Magdala is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 20 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique B and B experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, all king or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Magdala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Magdala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.