We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* less than 5 min walk from town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Magdala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Magdala to your Saves list
Villa Magdala
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast & Parking
Ranked #17 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5* less than 5 min walk from town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Wonderfu lelegant B & B literally less than 5 min stroll from town. Great b'fast and free car parking, which is a rarity in Bath. Staffccannot do enough for you. Don't stay anwhere else. Villa Magdala and the Bizaare Bath Tour (you have to do it) are Bath's best kept secrets.

Room Tip: Book ahead - the 18 rooms go quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at Villa Magdala, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We know how much a free car park means in Bath! It;s nice to know our guests appreciate it too.

Kimberley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    86
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
109
569
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Absolutely loved my visit to Villa Magdala.
The Proprietors John & Amanda were incredibly welcoming and helpful.
The staff were always very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were great.
The breakfast was comprehensive.
Wireless Internet was VERY fast.
Location was very convenient.
The hotel was extremely quiet and welcoming - a home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

The 5* rating is without doubt well deserved. The current owners have only taken over ownership of the B&B in the past few months but you can quickly see that they are a very caring and approachable couple, who love what they do . . . and they do it very well indeed . . their enthusiasm is infectious. The staff are excellent, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was cheerful, friendly and quietly efficient.

We were so lucky to find such a perfect B&B within only a few minutes level walk of the city of Bath, plus private parking . . . and the best breakfasts I have had at any B&B over the past 30 years - taken in a comfortable, bright and sunny dining room - the breakfast buffet choices were very varied and included lovely creamy local yoghurts, fresh fruits plus a seasonal home made fruit compote and the hot breakfast was perfectly cooked and plentiful . . you would not go away hungry.

We could not fault our room either - it was roomy enough to have enough seating for 2 with a low table, a desk to sit or write at, plenty of drawer and hanging space, small flat screen TV and a very well stocked Tea and Coffee making tray with fresh milk in a flask found each day on the tray - a very nice touch. The bath with showe on-suite was small but perfect for our needs and had everything you could want, with lovely Cole and Lewis toiletries and nice towels.

We could hear no traffic noise whatsoever in our room and no noise from any neighbouring guests either, despite the house being full. The whole house feels relaxed and peaceful and we are already planning to return later in the year. I have a feeling this could easily be a place that we will return to time and again when travelling to Bath for concerts, exhibitions or just getting away from it all.

Excellent web site and on-line booking available.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, during the best April in living memory, April 27/28 2011!

My partner and I had planned a trip to Devon and Cornwall, returning through Bath, but my motorbike sprung a leak, and plans changed. We found ourselves in the tourist office in Bath asking what accommodation they would recommend. We were directed to the Villa Magdala.

Doubleroom, ensuite, lovely comfortable soft bed. Quiet area. £80 per night.
They have forecourt parking, important for our motorbike security.
Breakfast was in a large bright dining-room, with white linen tablecloths and serviettes.
Breakfast menu was comprehensive, covering the "full English" to the continental breakfast. Fresh croissants cooked every morning. Usual compliment of cereals and yoghurts. Scrambled eggs like I can’t make.....must get the recipe. Creamy and airy.

Next morning, motorbike wasn't fixed, so had to book for another night. While our room was already reserved for somebody else that night, they managed to move things around so that we wouldn't have to vacate our room and move our gear to another. Thanks to the staff.

When we finally checked out the next day, we still wanted to remain in Bath for most of the day so the staff offered to put our bike jackets/panniers/helmets etc in a safe-room so we could continue sight-seeing (Prior Park Landscape Gardens) and pick up the gear later when we were ready to leave Bath.

The Villa Magdala is within walking distance of the town centre and the Kennet-Avon Canal walk/cycleway, and so many other of Bath’s highlights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Only a few blocks from all the sites in Bath. Rooms are lovely and clean. Free parking was a nice perk. Only stayed one night but could have easily spent more time in Bath. Breakfast was top notch with variety of food available. Thanked our son for recommending Villa Magdala to us!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Great value for money and outstanding, friendly service. New owners still finding their feet but doing an amazing job. Quiet lounge and breakfast room with very pretty views. A lovely place to stay and a nice stroll away from busy city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed a total of three nights at Villa Magdala. Would highly recommend. Quiet setting across from Henrietta Park in the heart of the city, yet removed enough from the hub-bub of Bath to be quiet and restful.

Very nice breakfast served and the staff was very helpful in finding evening events and out of the way places to discover.

Well worth the price and would highly recommend

Room Tip: Staff will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Magdala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Magdala

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Magdala 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa Magdala is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 20 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique B and B experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, all king or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Magdala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Magdala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.